We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of promises but missing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Molen Guest House
Ranked #29 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of promises but missing atmosphere”
Reviewed December 8, 2009

De Molen Guesthouse lies in a lovely property in the area Spanish Farm in Somerset-West about 45 minutes from of Capetown. The town of Somerset West itself is not all that great, but the Molen is located on a very nice piece of land in the suburb of Spanish Farm with a fabulous view on Gordon Bay and Somerset-West. It is about 20 mins drive to some fabulous wineries of Stellenbosch. The guesthouse is run by a Dutch couple who are now running the place for some two years. They were helpful with our plans for daytrips when you ask but nothing was offered voluntarily. The breakfast is good with freshly baked bread every day. We paid 1150 rand per night for our luxury room including breakfast, however the luxury was only to be found in the bed. The rest was fairly basic such as cupboards, TV, bathroom, furniture and bathroom utensils. Our stay was nice, but there were a number of things that were a disappointment, namely:
- the reception of new guests were done by staff, not the owners. The staff lack good communication skills.
- the housekeeping staff were extremely nice but rather forgetful. Especially on replenishing the coffee and tea.
- there was supposed to be internet available in the reception for guests but that was not true.
- you would expect some international TV channels with a dish on the house, but there were only local uninteresting tv channels.
- the owners were not able or willing to help us in any way of checking in for our flights back home. We had to resort to an internet café in a nearby shopping center.
- our AC worked but made a lot of noise both inside and outside.
- when we departed no-one would bother to say good-bye after a 7 night stay!

We enjoyed ourselves at the Molen. However Joris And Christie need to learn quickly how to be a good host to their guests. The place has a great potential but without the daily input of both hosts it will run off as a basic hotel without any personal atmosphere.

We expected it to be the best place during our four week SA trip, but it proved to be the most disappointing one.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HankBally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
44
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2009

The De Molen Guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay and to enjoy some quite and peaceful days.
The De Molen is perfectly located to start daytrips to the Cape, winelands or other places.
The hosts are very frindly and were also very helpful in planning our trip through the eastern and western cape.
The rooms are arranged in a charming and homelike way.
We will definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSRieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Our Room was very, very dark. My wife had to make up on the terrace. The bathroom was very basic, no where to put bottles and soap in the basic shower. Very little place to put toileteries in the bathroom. No holder for toilet paper. No window or air conditioning in either the bedroom and shower room. Normally little soaps, body lotions, shower caps, etc are supplied together with a little chocolate on the bed - but nothing like that ever appeared, even when we mentioned it.. Breakfast was very basic. Little choice

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hollander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We enjoyed our six night stay at De Molen Guest House. It is up high away from the town but there are one or two restaurants close, the others being 10 minutes or so drive.
The reception rooms are spacious and cool and the large outdoor terrace where breakfast is served is super and has a lovely view. There are lawned gardens and an attractively landscaped pool.
We were initially in a room at the side but at our request moved into a slightly more expensive suite to take advantage of the view which from our 1st floor balcony was fantastic, right across the town, the bay and out to sea. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. They have a fridge and television and one had a dvd player.
The first room had a clear glass panelled door to the bathroom so not much privacy! I ended up draping my beach wrap over the door. The second room had a fantastic bathroom and (thankfully) solid door
Breakfast was excellent with lovely fresh rolls though after a few days it would have been nice to have a bit of variation. There is an “honesty bar”fridge with wine and beer
It would be good if that could include a few crisps, snacks etc so if you decided spend the day by the beautiful pool you could nibble on something.
Jorgen and Christy were very helpful and friendly, suggesting and booking restaurants and also a township tour for us.
I do recommend De Molen but when you stay there for six nights you notice that a few things do need tightening up, the staff are willing but a bit too laid back, e.g. topping up of toiletries in the bathrooms, forgetting stuff at breakfast.
De Molen was very good but with just a little more attention to detail could be fantastic.

  • Liked — Lovely views
  • Disliked — lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

De Molen Guesthouse is a lovely property in the suburbs of Capetown. The town of Somerset West itself is not all that great, but the Molen is located on a very nice piece of land. It is about 20 mins drive from Capetown and close to some fabulous wineries (e.g. Vergelegen, Morgenstern) The guesthouse is run by a friendly Dutch couple who just got their start in running the place. They were really helpful in planning trips/excursions around the area. The breakfast is also great, especially given that we rarely got up on time but they never complained. There are about 5 rooms in the main house and I believe one separate cottage. We paid about 350 rand per night for our room including breakfast which was a steal. Overall, our stay was quite nice, but there were a few things which lessened our experience somewhat, namely:
- 2 months before we arrived, we requested a quiet room as both my wife and I are light sleepers, but when we got there, they put us in probably the noisiest room in the house. With little kids in the room above us, we were never able to sleep past 8am. Given that we had specifically requested a quiet room, this should have been taken care of.
- the housekeeping staff were extremely nice but a little forgetful. Some days they would forget to provide fresh towels, while on others they were late in cleaning our laundary. The owners were very good about responding to these issues, but it was nevertheless a negative.
- our AC did not work when we arrived. Again, the owners took care of the problem but not until several days later.

So overall, we enjoyed ourselves at the Molen. Joris And Christie are great and extremely helpful. The place is also a great value for money. Nevertheless, we hope that they iron out some of the issues we encountered to make future stays truly memorable.

- Amsterdam traveller.

  • Liked — The owners, breakfast, location.
  • Disliked — Noise.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vactionerAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
2.3 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 78 in Somerset West
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
At Winkfield House
At Winkfield House
#26 of 78 in Somerset West
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 78 in Somerset West
136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Winelands Villa Guesthouse & Cottages
Winelands Villa Guesthouse & Cot...
#21 of 78 in Somerset West
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Molen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Molen Guest House

Property: De Molen Guest House
Address: 62 Silverboomkloofroad | Spanish Farm, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Molen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Molen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Molen Guest House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing