We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: No matter how infrequently you visit, you will always be greeted like a regular.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Awesome service, mind blowing food.. The carpaccio was sublime! I old gladly eat here on a regular basis.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tashvanaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    249
    50
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing, delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

On a freezing cold Monday evening the restaurant was fully booked, many patrons could not be accommodated - that says it all. The food was exceptional, the vibe and service just amazing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GermaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wow, what a meal. Talk about the perfect matching of food and wine. Visited Giovanni's for the 1st times on Friday, heard a lot about the place though. I was in the mood for a bottle of Shiraz, it was such a lovely winters day. Because I was a 1st time visitor I had no idea what to have of the menu. The owner, Peter, came to me and greeted me, said he has never seen me before and suggested a dish, he nailed the wine and food pairing.

I also realized quickly that the waiters and Peter know most of the guests coming for meals.what a lovely spot! just shows you that brilliant service goes a long way.

Will definitely visit again and refer all my friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenricovL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The best service and food by far in Somerset-West and surrounds. Great ambience and food to die for. Peter is totally in control of the place and he is assisted by the best.Pelle and Ishmael is the best. Do not leave Cape Town without having a meal at Cucina di Giovanni.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyBlackbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The best in Somerset West by far. You have to eat out at Giovanni's when visiting our town. Never had a bad meal and still making my way through the menu

Helpful?
Thank Dieter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing