We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Great Food, Generous Portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: No matter how infrequently you visit, you will always be greeted like a regular.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service, Great Food, Generous Portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My Parents moved to Somerset West just over a year ago and after visiting Giovanni's once continued to return time and time again. I recently accompanied them for the first time and it was clear why they loved the place so much! The staff were amazingly friendly and professional and knew exactly how to make you feel comfortable and welcome and were also able to advise brilliantly on what to order from the menu. Some of the best service I've ever seen in a restaurant. The food was absolutely amazing and extremely good value. I had the oxtail for a main which was delicious and a really generous portion. My parents both ordered the liver, as they apparently always do. I tasted some and that too was absolutely delicious. Starters were all excellent as well. We did not have desert – but received complimentary Grappa and coffee which was well received!
I was initially skeptical as the restaurant is located inside a mall which hampers the atmosphere if you are sitting “outside” (inside the mall) or right next to window with the neon lights from the mall visible through the glass. The main mall lights dimmed at 08:30 (I think) which hugely improved the atmosphere. Also all tables to the center of the restaurant were unaffected. Table 6 is apparently the best in house if you are just 2 people. Some outdoor umbrellas for the “outside” area and canopies over the windows would be a great addition to improve the atmosphere. And have to admit the location inside a mall has security and convenience (if you just went grocery shopping) advantages.
I look forward to going to Giovanni's again next time I visit my parents and would strongly recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    249
    50
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Far overrated.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Cannot understand all the rave reviews. The place looks dark, dated and not very inviting . Tables are extremely close to each other and if you don't like what you have ordered, you can always eat from your neighbours plate.......Service is fast in a way that within 45 minutes you are through with a a three course dinner. The food is acceptable but basic nothing special or innovative . If you want a nice evening go somewhere else, there are so many other and better options around.

Helpful?
2 Thank onmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having read the reviews on this site our expectations were high. We weren't quite as impressed. The atmosphere was buzzy and the staff pleasant, but the food (though good value) was good rather than great. Nice, but nothing memorable or exciting. Portions were very large - too large for most of our party.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Mandy and I enjoyed Giovannis in Sandhurst and would eat there on a weekly basis, and were devastated when Goivannis was sold and shortly thereafter closed down. So good to see that the re-incarnated Giovannis is alive and well in Somerset West. We had an excellent truly Italian meal - excellent preparation for our 3 day Wine 2 Whaled Mountainbike ride.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Best Italian meal of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Best Italian food I've ever had! The dishes are delicious and unique, as well as creative. The service is excellent and friendly. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly, even giving us an extra chair so my little sister could nap comfortably.. They made the experience even better! If you're looking for a place to have a good Italian meal, Giovanni's is definitely where you want to be! Definitely going back again! It was the best birthday meal I'd ever had! Xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing