We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Oaks B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I were recently visiting Cape Town and Somerset West from our home in Port Elizabeth. We visited many great locations including Hout Bay, Knysna, Stellenbosch, Bloubergstrand etc and were greeted warmly with very adequate accommodation. On our return trip to PE we made the mistake of stayed overnight at Two Oaks B&B Luxury accommodation (what a joke) in Somerset West and were appalled at the condition of the rooms. We arrived at Two Oaks on the morning of the 22nd of April and upon arrival our host Martin suggested we pay him cash to avoid SARS. As the room was being readied we left to visit our son in Stellenbosch. We returned around 21.00 later that evening.
We were horrified at what greeted us. The sheets were both threadbare and stained. The room was very unclean and to our horror we found cockroaches in the cupboard. The bathroom was dirty and horrible. We complained to Martin who escorted us to another room. By this time we were both exhausted. The second room was little better than the first but we were so tired we decided to ignore the conditions. After a dreadful night with little sleep we left the premises well before daylight.
We do not intend to visit Two Oaks ever again but we do want to try and prevent others from having the same experience. I dread to think what overseas visitors think of South African standards of accommodation. Please do whatever you can to assist us in this aim. We attach photographs which may help.

Kind regards

Rob and Joan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

"My goodness, I'm not sure what "in need of maintenance" must have been smoking.......!!?? I have stayed in many accommodations in SA and abroad and can without a doubt say that Two Oaks is the best ever ! Clean & comfortable rooms, very luxurious. Breakfasts - superb, catered to our individual tastes. Restaurant right on the premises - also top quality and what fabulous value for money, more reasonable even than mundane eateries such as the Spur.
Martin & Marianne were wonderful hosts, they have done themselves proud and created a real "home away from home". I would highly recommend Two Oaks in Somerset West to anybody travelling to Cape Town as it's in very close proximity to the city. Can't wait for my return trip !"

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I did not particularly enjoy our stay at this B&B. The whole building and the rooms are looking a bit tired and in need of maintenance. I also didn't find the room to be very clean and fresh. For the price we paid, I would have expected something a little bit better.

The breakfast was good, though, and the hosts friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0uthAFricanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Had an absolutely wonderful time staying here during a trip to Cape Town for 2 weeks. Martin our host was brilliant, went out of his way to make sure we saw all the best sights of the region. The breakfast was full and hearty, cooked any way we liked it. The rooms were clean and comfortable. World class restaurant for a very affordable price attached to the B&B made dinners easy! Would recommend staying here to anyone traveling in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Great little B&B, excellent elaborate breakfasts, clean and nicely, individually decorated rooms with every friendly service from Martin - always up for a politicial discussion and/or willing to help out by giving a ride into town if needed. Great, popular little coffeeshop/lunch cafe only adds to this find. 15 min. walk from somerset west centre and easily located on main road. highly recommended. loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charitygiril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y003087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.4 mi away
Stellendal Guesthouse
Stellendal Guesthouse
#8 of 82 in Somerset West
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 82 in Somerset West
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 82 in Somerset West
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
a'Vue Guesthouse
a'Vue Guesthouse
#61 of 82 in Somerset West
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast

Address: 212 Main Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: $74 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Oaks Bed And Breakfast Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing