We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central place, very helpful hosts, quiet and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penny Lane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penny Lane Lodge
Ranked #60 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great central place, very helpful hosts, quiet and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Lovely central location just off the main road in Somerset West, with easy walking distance of bars and resturants.
The place was clean and peaceful.
Diane, Kevin and their son Scott could not do enough to help us with planning our trips out, i.e Shark cage diving, Safari, parachute jump and helicopter ride.
They are also very knowledgeable of the area and suggested lots of good places to visit.
I wish we could have stayed longer, but work and my wallett would not allow!!
Thanks again Diane, Kevin and Scott

Lyndsay Wallington

Room Tip: We booked the Cottage and both the chalets, the rooms are all large and clean, the only downfall of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
In response to our customer's feedback regarding the lack of air conditioning in our Cottage, we have now installed a unit. Now all of our rooms / units have aircon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maartensdijk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Your hosts Kevin and Diane White will have pleasure in helping you plan your daily trips and excursions. Also on offer at Penny Lane Lodge are Painting Holidays plus a range of Educational Holidays starting with Creative Writing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diane7555, Owner at Penny Lane Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Maria,
Thank you for your helpful and positive review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us!
Best regards,
Diane and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Excellent location in Somerset west easy access to wine area and Gordon's bay and the Strand

Hotel is run by a lovely couple from England , Nice people and friendly .
We rented the two bedroom cottage and stayed for two weeks.

Gated , controlled, entrance for security and quiet venue .
Probably the best value for the price in the area .My mother in law from England joined us for the trip .She had her own bedroom on another level in the cottage which made for a nice private accommodation -full kitchen and lounge area gave us enough room to not be on top of each other.
We plan on staying again on our next trip in 2012

Internet connection could be better hope it improves for the cottages next time

Tom and Pam from Chicago

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawchicago2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great location within easy reach of Cape Town and the Winelands, with all sorts of attractions and activities nearby. We really liked the fact that both the beach and the mountains are only a short drive away.
Diane and Kevin were excellent hosts, who from the moment we arrived, make us feel at home. They are very knowledgeable about the area and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
The place is very friendly and the rooms are clean and prettily decorated, as well as being very functional with satellite TV and broadband internet access.
Bed and (excellent) breakfast and self-catering options are provided, with outdoor barbeque (or braai as we learned to call it) facilities for guests’ use. There are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance too. The gardens are lovely and include an outdoor pool and relaxation area, which was really nice to come back to after a hard day’s wine tasting or site seeing.
Diane is a well-known local artist and her paintings decorate the dining and bar area. Her gallery is in the grounds, which we thought was really cool.
We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Travelling alone I needed somewhere safe, accesable, friendly and a bit of space. At Penny Lane Lodge the safety side was spot on, it was accesable to everywhere I wanted to go and the studio was spacious and light. Diane and Kevin were kind, considerate and wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The bar is not just for customers, their friends and family popped in and the atmosphere was pleasant and relaxing. I am so glad I stayed there and Diane makes great omelettes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vulcansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We have been there in 2008 for the second time. Very friendly and lovely people. They help you were the can. The place lays central you can go to differed places to site-sing, like the whales, sharks, beautiful nature, sea fishing and all that kind of things. Cape Town is about a half our drive from there. For the people who like to gamble, there is a beautiful casino near by. The studios are nice, cosy and clean. For lager groups the have a cottage. There is a nice bar ware you can relax after you trip from ........We have recommended to some friends and the had also al lovely time. So go over there to see it for your self.

Gerard and Maria from Holland.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaverUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.1 mi away
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Two Oaks Bed and Breakfast
#62 of 78 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 26 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Molen Guest House
De Molen Guest House
#31 of 78 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stellendal Guesthouse
Stellendal Guesthouse
#8 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View Somerset West
Bay View Somerset West
#11 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Smart Stay Luxury Self-catering Apartments
Smart Stay Luxury Self-catering ...
#12 of 26 in Somerset West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Lane Lodge

Property: Penny Lane Lodge
Address: 5 North Avenue | Westridge, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Lane Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful town of Somerset West with magnificent views of the Helderberg Mountains, and at the gateway to the winelands, close to the beaches of Strand & Gordons Bay, close to 5 major golf courses, we have 6 units to let on a self-catering / room only basis. We are 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and 35 minutes from central Cape Town, centrally situated for the tourist or business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Penny Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Lane Lodge Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing