We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too short a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erinvale Estate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Too short a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Erinvale. We were looked after by a very friendly and competent team. Moira requested a tea pot for our room. It was there when we got back. We look forward to a return visit but that might be some time away as we live in the real isle of Erin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donomur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    94
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
50
113
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had to be in the Western Cape for business, and made Erinvale Estate Hotel my base from where I worked. Their friendly and curteous staff made me feel at home, and something I shall cherish forever. The restaurant and pub offered excellent meals, not to mention the hearty breakfast! I shall definately visit them again in future, and would recommend it to anyone without a doubt!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer excelent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry_Wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Erinvale is a very warm feel hotel in a wonderfull setting. The winelands surrounding the estate makes a business trip feel like a holiday. Rooms feel inviting with thatch roofs (2nd floor) and are well equiped with moddern TV setups. A great plus is that rooms have separate baths and showers. The Skelligs Pub compliment the hotel very well, and Erinvale Golf Club is one of the finest golf courses in the western Cape.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 2 days at the South African Society for History Teachers Annual conference hosted at the Erinvale Estate. What a treat! The setting is fantastic, the rooms tastefully decorated and very comfortable, staff are unobtrusive, polite, helpfull and the food was delicious! Very centrally located we spent the afternoon on an excursion through the Helderberg to Solms Delta with the staff of Erinvale waiting to welcome us back after. As a discerning traveller, I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChavonnesMUSEUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Erinvale is refreshingly different. Beautifully decorated bathrooms, huge fireplaces, superb catering, and top quality staff make this hotel it's 4 star status worth and more.

The peacocks roaming the courtyard are too beautiful to watch, and the spa provides excellent unintrusive services.

Room Tip: ASk for the second honeymoon room. Spacious and priced as per the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I played golf on the Friday and Saturday and decided to book my wife and daughters into the hotel on Friday. What an awesome stay and experience they had. The rooms were superb, clean and comfortable! The ladies were all spoilt in the Spa and were treated with excellent service. Will go back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've stayed here a few times now. It is a secure and stylish hotel, with comfortable rooms, a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere, and the friendly and helpful staff are out of this world. Here you experience the real meaning of “Home away from home”.

Room Tip: Each room I've stayed in so far, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.7 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
9.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 80 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erinvale Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erinvale Estate Hotel

Property: Erinvale Estate Hotel
Address: 1 Erinvale Avenue | off Lourensford Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Erinvale Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, surrounded by the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains, the Erinvale Estate Hotel & Spa offers distinctive and captivating hospitality. The property is only 40 minutes from Cape Town and 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Guests are a stone's throw away from a world of outdoor and leisure activities and have access to golf, spa, wine, chocolate and olive tasting at famous estates, in the 'Heart of the Helderberg'. The neighbouring Gary Player-designed Erinvale Golf Course offers a unique golfing challenge to all levels of players. The Erinvale Estate Spa is operated by the Lurra Spa and Wellness Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Erinvale Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erinvale Estate Hotel Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing