We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Willowbrook Country House
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The Lodge is truly magnificent. The grounds are lush and the pool inviting. Our room was handsomely appointed with attention to detail, extremely comfortable and spotless. The entire staff is very accommodating,knowledgeable and are willing to go the extra mile to ensure any request is given the utmost attention. Bkfst was great, nice selection of fruits, cereals, eggs,yogurt, breads, great coffee. Dinners at D'Vine was wonderful. Only the freshest of ingredients are used and presented beautifully, and there is a fine selection of wines to choose from. The location is ideal for visiting Cape Town, the Winelands as well as driving the Coastal Route. Many thanks to the entire staff for making our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacuoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 205 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at Willowbrook 6 years ago when it was a top class lodge with a top class restaurant. Unfortunately, the lodge has not really been kept up to date (bathrooms are now really old and badly in need of renevation) and the restaurant is nothing special anymore. Hence overpriced. Good location for the wine area.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed two nights and then again three nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much,
the setting is real nice with all rooms having their own terrace opening into the splendid garden. Personnel were very friendly and assisted with all our needs.
We also visited the D'vine restaurant a couple of times and agree that it is among the best restaurants in the region

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adri002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This was our third visit to Willowbrook Lodge and we will probably go again. We found it in the Portfolio Retreats Collection booklet as a good location for driving to Stellenbosch and its wine routes as well as to Cape Town and its surrounds. We invariably returned late afternoon and chilled out by the pool. Getting around would not have been so easy without a rental car.

The country house setting is peaceful and elegant and the gardens well maintained. There are 11 bedrooms but we have only stayed in the basic rooms which are perfectly adequate with TV, frig, tea/coffee, hairdryer, a/c (noisy - we preferred the overhead fan).

We dined each evening at the lodge's fine-dining restaurant where guests are often outnumbered by non-residents. This was never a problem as we were always allocated our own waitress. We soon learned to pass on the starter as a concession to our waistlines!

It is probably the friendly, efficient, well managed staff who encourage us to return - not just the place.

There's no spa, gym or nightlife on site, more like just staying at someone's house.

We are not golfers but fellow guests were there for the local golf courses.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garden33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in around the world. A very relaxed atmosphere - the grounds are lovely, with super birds and butterflies. The staff are great,; nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is also superb - a good menu and the food beautifuuly cooked and presented, with a good selection of local wines.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeebeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My sister and I had a three night stay which included B&B and evening Meal in the D'vine Restuarant. What a beautiful place, this was further enhanced by the wonderful service along with the friendliness of the entire staff. Was made to feel quite at home....felt sad to leave.

Oh!.. and oh boy the food was wonderful, French cuisine of the highest standard. Couldn't wait each night to try something new from their menu.

Thank you to all who made my Sisters and my stay so wonderful

Sue Ashworth
xxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneandonlySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Willowbrook Lodge and D’vine Restaurant. Second trip in the past year to this hidden jewel in Somerset West area of Cape Town. Beautiful part of the country and close to Cape Town City, but more relaxing than city hotels. If you’re arriving from a long trip like I was (New York), this is the place you need to stay to get acclimated. Surrounded by wonderful gardens and a babbling brook, this would be a great place for a quiet wedding and after party. Allen and the D’vine Restaurant staff put on a great meal and bar stocked with many favorite liquors and terrific wines from the Stellenbosch wine region. The dinners where unbelievable. You get a 5 star dinner for a 3 star price tag. We dined here both nights. Can’t say enough good things about the Willowbrook Lodge and D’vine Restaurant and staff. Dave Moynihan, New York, USA

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
Thank dave48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.2 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
328 reviews
2 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
224 reviews
5.1 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
182 reviews
24.9 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country House

Address: Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbrook Country House offers luxury accommodation in an idyllic, private and secluded country setting amidst lush gardens in the quiet residential town of Somerset West in the Western Cape, South Africa. Owner Lisa will welcome you and personally make sure that your stay at Willowbrook Country House is a superb experience. Our location offers the advantage of being in close proximity to the tourist hot spots of the area, pristine golf courses, sandy beaches, the Cape winelands and popular towns including Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Hermanus. Willowbrook Country House also offers an exquisite dining experience – the D’Vine Restaurant, voted among the top 100 in South Africa. Our garden setting next to the river is also ideal for intimate private functions such as weddings and smaller conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Willowbrook Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbrook Country House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing