We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Willowbrook Country House
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Our experience @ Willowbrook Lodge was a never-forgetting experience. We loved every second and would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone who would like to enjoy a relaxing time in the heart of Somerset West. The restaurant is incredible. The food is something out of this world. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Always ready to assist us with friendly smiles and warm hearts. Our room was lovey with nicely made beds and great bathroom. After a tiring day of sight seeing, our room was made up and our beds were turned down, welcoming us to a relaxing environment.
Thank you for a very lovely experience and a welcoming memory to a very relaxing and inspiring stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    54
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
118
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

A couple of pointers to anyone who is considering staying in this establishment. 1.Do not be tempted by any offer on their official website - you won't get it - we did'nt., 2. "Residents get priority booking for restaurant" - does not happen - they denied our booking. Had to pay R500+ to taxi to a decent restaurant that could take us on such short notice. Another couple who just arrived exhausted from the UK were refused dinner that night as well. Did us a favour actually as the food and the ambience in Tokara was heaps better than D'Vine. 3.After breakfast do not even think about going back to your room before lunch - it will not be made up. 4. The "friendly" welcome from the owners - did not happen. Our understated complaints of no discount, no dinner reservation and unmade beds made no impact - not a hint of an apology just "we're very busy" Busy? They have 11 rooms most of which appeared to be unoccupied. We did not complain at all about the poorly executed and presented cooked breakfast (I did'nt bother going down on day 3 - was I missed by the "friendly owners? No,afraid not!). Nor did we complain about the overpriced mini bar, or the broken toilet seat, or the inadequate shower or the shabby towels which were'nt replaced at night or ..... I could go on!. We paid R6809.22 for the whole shabby experience for 3 nights B&B - not cheap! So Tourists beware - a stay here could spoil your South African experience. We know to expect better as we are semi permanent residents here. The SA Tourist Board is working very hard to promote tourism in this wonderful country and you should expect to be treated like an honoured guest not just tolerated - they want you back again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

a relaxing place to spend a few days with a pleasant pool, spacious clean rooms and friendly staff. The lodge also has a fine dining restaurant with excellent food at great prices. The prawn starter was truly memorable! There is plenty to see around the area.Try Vergelegen wine estate for a great lunch. If there is one slight-and it is slight-criticism, the breakfast buffet was a bit uninspirng for such a good restaurant but overall we have no hesitation in recommending the place.

Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrPaulCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

Location: About 2.5km from Main St, the staff of this lodge made us very welcome. We stayed 3 days and used it as a base to tour the winelands, by car. The room was spacious and had a back door opening on to the garden. Our room was cleaned regularly, to a high standard. The pool was not very big, but I enjoyed a few laps.. The food was good. Dinner served in the lodge restaurant was tasty. There are no other restaurants within walking distance. There is a small bar that is open until you go to bed at night.. The receptionist was particularly helpful. She gave us maps of the winelands and recommended wineries to visit, restaurants in the area, drives to take....
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank MMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.2 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
5.1 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country House

Property: Willowbrook Country House
Address: Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbrook Country House offers luxury accommodation in an idyllic, private and secluded country setting amidst lush gardens in the quiet residential town of Somerset West in the Western Cape, South Africa. Owner Lisa will welcome you and personally make sure that your stay at Willowbrook Country House is a superb experience. Our location offers the advantage of being in close proximity to the tourist hot spots of the area, pristine golf courses, sandy beaches, the Cape winelands and popular towns including Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Hermanus. Willowbrook Country House also offers an exquisite dining experience – the D’Vine Restaurant, voted among the top 100 in South Africa. Our garden setting next to the river is also ideal for intimate private functions such as weddings and smaller conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Willowbrook Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbrook Country House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing