We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opa Greek Taverna

Opa Greek Taverna
Ranked #35 of 118 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Definitely worth going to, excellent meze platters, nice atmosphere and good service. Try the baklava for dessert, or balallava, as my friend mistakenly called it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morrieforrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food, very good service, and excellent value for money. Authentic menu and atmosphere. After one visit already one of our favourite restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Opa is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I entered Opa's without reservations on a busy night. They had no tables available but suggested that we sit at the bar. A very nice couple invited us to join them at a big table in the bar area which was much more comfortable. The place is very relaxed and friendly. We ordered the mezze for two people and had a large choice of items.The platter was delightful with substantial food, certainly the best mezze we have ever had. Several different waiters served us and everyone (including management) was very polite and helpful. Despite the large crowd and the belly dancer, the relaxed service was almost perfect. As is the case in so many restaurants, it took a while to get the check. It's great to have such a fine Greek restaurant in Somerset West.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLMAYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Fun Night Out !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We decided to try this new Greek restaurant that has recently opened and had a lovely evening out. A 'belly' dancer danced to Greek music which added to the atmosphere and was really fun. We started with chicken livers and calamari which were nice and went on to order the Greek lamb shwarmas. We found the pitas far too thick and doughy. We also believe that were they to have the proper Greek schwarma machine at front-of-house where the meat could be carved within full view nof the customers, they would have a winner. We have been told that the meze platters are really good and we will be back to try that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little bit of The Med in Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A group of 8 arrived for a first visit having agreed a R150 per person with 2 bottles of wine thrown in for the table. The minute you walk through the door the service & staff were amazing. Love that the waiters were so involved with the ethos of the restaurant, with huge smiles and lots of fun, especially when the belly dancing was in full sway. The food began arriving and arriving, fresh tasty tomatoes, onion, olives, pitta, a variety of dips. In fact we had to ask them to slow the dishes down there were so many to try and the quantities were perfect. Belly dancer was fun & talented without being tacky. Owner, Andre, visited us frequently to ensure we were enjoying our evening, we definitely were. Our bill was higher than expected BUT we drank far, far more than 2 bottles!
We are already planning a return, highly recommend the food, service & whole ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa Greek Taverna also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Opa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing