We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved Alfie's cottage-it was home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio ideal for sundowners with views of the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Patio ideal for sundowners with views of the mountains
Proudly South African luxury Charlotte Rhys toiletries
View of nature reserve from our road
View of Helderberg mountain from outside our gate
View of nature reserve from our road
View of nature reserve from our road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rob-Eilee...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Loved Alfie's cottage-it was home away from home”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The hosts Jen and Charles made us feel very welcome. A cute and charming cottage,very comfortable with lots of little extras that we didn't expect-especially the bottle of wine in the fridge and cold drinks on arrival and the fresh flowers from the rose garden which were regularly updated. It is in a beautiful, quiet and safe area and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage, fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Alfie's Cottage for two nights but I wish it had been longer. The cottage is stunning, beautifully decorated, spacious and with everything you could want. Jen and Charles could not have been better hosts, in face when I mentioned to Charles that a light bulb had gone he changed it himself within minutes. Cannot recommend this property highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
froggie25...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Alfies Cottage for the month of March 2014. The cottage was delightful and our hosts Jen and Charles were always very happy to help. The accommodation was more than comfortable and was kept so clean and linen changed on a regular basis. Melody the housekeeper was always happy to help and did a splendid job keeping everything just so and arranged fresh flowers in the cottage. We loved staying at Alfies. Jen is very knowledgeable about the area which proved a great help.

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abergavenny
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet location and the comfortable bed!
Liked least: garden furniture
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerry S
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning home away from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely two night stay at Alfie's cottage, which in terms of location, could not be better. It is a 5 minute walk from a magnificent national park and a 5 minute drive from Vergelegen wine farm, both which are well worth a viisit. The owners made us feel completely at home and the cottage was kitted out with everything we could need. The cottage was so peaceful and with such lovely views that we wished we could have stayed longer,. I am happy to give this cottage and excellent recommendation. We will be back

Date of stay: November 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian D
Cape Town
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and caring”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This charming self catering bed and breakfast accommodation is in the heart of Somerset West nestled in the Helderberg mountains. It is in close proximity to the Helderberg Nature reserve and is situated within easy access to Shopping Mall's, the beach, scenic pass and coastline drives. It is only 45 minutes from the centre of Cape Town. The accommodation is exceptionally clean and is ever so comfortable. "Just loved the personal touch of wrapped nougat on the pillow on arrival". Don't miss out on this one. Well done Jen.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyhting about the accommodation was to our expectations
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.