We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Pricing”

Melissa’s Somerset Mall
Ranked #84 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crazy Pricing”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped in for a quick light lunch while shopping. Waited for service 25 minutes till drinks arrived, waitress disappeared, eventually after trying to attract someones attention for ten minutes and being acknowledged but ignored I got up paid and left. Not too sad about that because the prices are way above average and the food I saw going to other tables didn't warrant those prices.

Won't be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently tried to make a reservation at this particular Melissa's for a large group of friends and kids and was told that they do not allow reservations and that I had to come a bit earlier and wait for a table to become available. Never-the-less, we went there for lunch. As with their Stellenbosch branch, the service was a disappointment. It takes forever to get a waitress to assist you and then even longer before you are served. I might be wrong, but it feels as if their prices are always increasing and their quality decreasing. Our salads had so many leaves in that one had to seriously look for the rest of the ingredients and the single wrap we ordered was dry, with the meat tuff. I was hoping for a better experience here than what we had at Melissa's in Stellenbosch, but walked out thinking that neither of these restaurants impressed with food or level of service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mmm?”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

First visit ever to Melissa's and wasn't enthralled. Scones were dry and jam and cheese were charged extra. Cappuccino was perfect! Brownies looked tempting - should have rather had those! Obviously very popular meeting place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love Melissa's!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

So glad that a Melissas has opened in Somerset West! My favourite on the menu is the toasted banana bread. Goes down well with a red latte...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharleVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food was horrible & staff was slack!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was so hungry and Melissa's has a good reputation, but to be honest I was very disappointed and I'll usually eat anything put in front of me, especially if my tummy is grumbling! I had the Thai Fish Cakes, which were rubbery and had an unpleasant flavour, it was expensive too. The staff were very lack lustre, I watched our coffee order arrive in the kitchen area, which wasn't busy at all, the lady responsible for making them cleaned a whole bunch of cutlery before she even bothered to start with the coffees, keeping us waiting a rather long time. The service was shoddy, I had to summon the waiter to order, even though they were not busy and just hanging around chatting. 3pm in the mall, they'd run out of scones... perfect time for afternoon tea? Somerset Mall has lots of cafes and eating options, so I'd not choose to go to Melissa's again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyCatCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissa’s Somerset Mall also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Melissa’s Somerset Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing