We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 10 show off”

Camphors at Vergelegen
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Camphors at Vergelegen signature restaurant takes its name from the ancient giant camphor trees, planted in 1700, situated in front of the historic Homestead. The restaurant overlooks expansive lawns and beautiful trees complementing the overall dining experience and creating an ambiance never to be forgotten. After only a year of operation, Camphors was awarded eighth place in the Top Ten restaurants in South Africa, in The Eat Out DStv Food Network Restaurant Awards 2014, as well as being the Regional Winner - Wine Tourism Restaurant - in the 2014 Best of Wine Tourism Awards, Great Wine Capitals. Vergelegen produces classical wine varietals and the ever changing menu reflects a modern take on classical international and local food dishes, specifically designed to complement Vergelegen's award-winning wines. The Sommelier and his restaurant team guide diners through the menu and recommended wine selections to ensure a relaxed and memorable food and wine experience. This experience is tailored for both wine and food connoisseurs and everyday visitors alike who want to enjoy an unpressured dining experience. Regrettably, Camphors is not child-friendly.
}���S��
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top 10 show off”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

It would appear that to get into the South African Dining Awards Top 10 a restaurant has to be creative above all else. Unfortunately, Camphors follows the mould to produce food that sounds innovative and uses interesting/unusual ingredients; great for judges but the overall effect from a diner's point of view is one of disappointment. The terrace is a very pleasant spot for lunch on a sunny day, but the atmosphere was spoilt by the noisy workmen very close by - surely Vergelegen is big enough to deploy them elsewhere during lunch. The food was OK but choices were limited, especially for vegetarians. I assume some of the meat, lardo and crispy pig tail, was from Bread & Wine as it referred to Neil (presumably Jewell); I'd much rather eat there. The Vergelegen Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2012 was excellent and actually more memorable than the award-winning food. Shame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrymlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    38
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Disappointing evening”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had great expectations for our dinner at Camphors , however it was a great disappointment. We found the menu difficult to understand. It seemed to us that the chef's main aim was to be different at all costs using unusual ingredients. We found some of the food very bland and uninteresting. The service was efficient but the room lacked atmosphere. It is very difficult to get reservations at the top restaurants in the Winelands at this time of the year, in particular on a Saturday, but Camphors was only half full. This tells you a lot, I'm afraid. We cannot recommend it and were glad we hadn't persuaded any of our friends to come with us

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodlesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Almost in the gardens”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Going there you follow a driveway that goes between the trees and for a moment you forget that you just left the highway and traffic

Reception is very professional and all the tables is privileged to have a view through large glass windows that is basically one entire wall of the restaurant.

Service is 5 star quality.

Then the food is served. What a treat. I never had a hamburger that tasted like this. Gourmet food is the only way to describe it.

This is a must see and a must experience if you are in the area

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HennieVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent lunch over the festive season . Brilliant innovative small menu delivered on taste and looks. Best desserts in Capetown, try the soufflé or the Choc torte, both exceptional . General service is OK but a bit random, BUT the manager/ sommelier was brilliant . Attentive, charming and knowledgeable .
BIG let down is the "trying to hard " 80's glitz decor with shocking tacky crystal chandeliers. BUT the wonderful art makes up for it.
A great day out at the beautiful Estate finished with an excellent meal !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I dined at Camphors and had the 5-course tasting menu for lunch whilst touring the Stellenbosch region. From start to finish, the food was the star of the show...excellent bread, mozzerella di Bufala with "magic man" carrots, and stone fruit dessert. My only complaint regarding the food is that my risotto was very slightly undercooked. However, it is a real pity that the service here does not match the quality of what is being put on the plate. It seemed disorganized, chaotic, and severely lacked finesse even though we had booked well in advance. I was also a bit put off by what seems to be a recent renovation of the restaurant interior. The colour palette was a cold mix of white, black and grey with shiny black surfaces and tacky crystal chandeliers. For an estate with the pedigree that Vergelegen has, it shocks me that they have given in to such a trendy design concept which will surely be passe in a years time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Kassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camphors at Vergelegen also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Camphors at Vergelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing