We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An undiscovered culinary gem”

Camphors at Vergelegen
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Camphors at Vergelegen signature restaurant takes its name from the ancient giant camphor trees, planted in 1700, situated in front of the historic Homestead. The restaurant overlooks expansive lawns and beautiful trees complementing the overall dining experience and creating an ambiance never to be forgotten. After only a year of operation, Camphors was awarded eighth place in the Top Ten restaurants in South Africa, in The Eat Out DStv Food Network Restaurant Awards 2014, as well as being the Regional Winner - Wine Tourism Restaurant - in the 2014 Best of Wine Tourism Awards, Great Wine Capitals. Vergelegen produces classical wine varietals and the ever changing menu reflects a modern take on classical international and local food dishes, specifically designed to complement Vergelegen's award-winning wines. The Sommelier and his restaurant team guide diners through the menu and recommended wine selections to ensure a relaxed and memorable food and wine experience. This experience is tailored for both wine and food connoisseurs and everyday visitors alike who want to enjoy an unpressured dining experience. Regrettably, Camphors is not child-friendly.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An undiscovered culinary gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Wow!!

Just absolutely fabulous

Attention to detail says it all

Most impressed!

If you find yourself any where in the Western Cape and want a super treat this is your stop.

Everything fresh and a delight palette.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G-force-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    38
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Highly recommended restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a truly wonderful experience we had at Camphors at Vergelegen. Firstly the professionalism experience and knowledge of super friendly manager Christo needs to be mentioned. The venue on a beautiful wine farm with so much history and exquisite interior makes for a greatl setting.

The 3 course meal is much more than it seems on face value. The afternoon stated of with eg the most amazing potato bread, honey and thyme bated pigs tails, tomato jelly, edible flowers all well presented before you have ordered the starter.

The Vergelegen Velouté and Fennel Coppa as starter was brilliant so was the springbok loin and shank as mains. Complimentary pre desert before the lemon tart as desert ended off one of the best meals I have had in a very long time.

Sweets on offer was complimented by a quick hallo at the table by chef PJ Vadas (aka pork chop cause of his love of working with pork)

Of course I needs to mention the wonderful wines on offer! As a package a truly great experience. Everyone in our group if 14 agreed it was indeed great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting & tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had lunch here. It was a lovely day so we sat outside in the beautiful gardens . The food was excellent. The chef really kept my palate interested with a fantastic combination of flavours for each course. The service was great as well, each course was explained in great detail.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovemyhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a sensory experience! 10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently spent a quiet evening at the Camphor's with my girlfriend and was surprised beyond belief at the level of service, as I'm not use to being treated like royalty.

we enjoyed the 3 course menu. I have read about the culinary genius of chef PJ Vargas but to experience it was truly special. the honey mustard pig tails have to get a special mention, and the smoked salmon and salmon trout starter is without a doubt the BEST plate of food I've ever had the privilege of eating. excellent in presentation, taste and smell.

everything about the evening was extra special and the lemon tart dessert was so good looking I almost didn't want to eat it.

the 2007 shiraz and 2012 chardonnay should also be experienced.

Thank you Chef PJ and Christo Deyzel

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilASauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Refit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a recent meal to celebrate my mother in laws 80 th birthday .The food was excellent and the service was cheerful and precise .The refurbishment of this establishment is great ,a modern refit but it still retains the atmosphere of the original and historical setting.They do not cater for kids at all and our eleven year old who really wanted to be at her grans happy day found little to enjoy on the menu and was charged full price.This place will be well enjoyed by the visiting Europeans but the locals will find it expensive.No lemonade?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samsunburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camphors at Vergelegen also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Camphors at Vergelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing