We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Escapes was born out of a love for South Africa, its great wine and a passion to share our wine culture and heritage. Our vision is thus to partner with various wine farms in building South Africa's reputation as a wine destination of choice. To do this we offer specialized, exclusive wine tours where guests are introduced to some of the best Estates and wines, whilst providing them with excellent service and hospitality.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and me enjoyed a brilliant day in the Cape Winelands courtesy of our tour with Wine Escapes. Our guide John, picked us up from our hotel in the morning and took us on an exclusive tour, tailored to our specific wine tastes and interests.

We visited two vineyards in the morning, and then a third for lunch, finishing the day with a cheese-and-wine pairing. It was great having John as our guide, he has great passion and knowledge for wine and was able to answer all of our questions and provided great insights into the workings and histories of the vineyards we visited as well as the wines we tasted.

As for the wines we got to taste: Wow! It's a great touch by Wine Escapes to take on board your wine preferences prior to organising the tour. As a result we got to taste some incredible examples of the wines we like (including the best Shiraz in the world - which was pretty much worth the cost of the tour on its own!!), as well as examples of wines we might not have previously considered but that were a good match to our palate nonetheless.

In my opinion there is no better way of exploring the Cape Winelands than a tour with Wine Escapes. The tour was informative, relaxed, personal and exclusive and John was an excellent guide; friendly, knowledgeable and engaging. If you like wine, and you're visiting South Africa, a tour with them is a must and will certainly be top of our itinerary should we ever visit again.

Thank Rjd200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always such fun introducing our guests to our South African Wines, we are spoilt to have such great wines on our doorstep!! We are so glad you enjoyed your day and look forward to seeing you again in our beautiful Winelands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took a tour with Wine Escapes in early March. I cannot point out a single thing that was not top notch on the tour. John (the guide) was friendly, fun, punctual and last but not least very knowledgeable, not only about the wine related things but also the history of the surroundings. We definitely think this was value for money and would recommend it for anyone who enjoys wine and is willing to learn and have fun.

Thank Kristleifur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and for spending part of your holiday in Africa with us. A day spent in the Winelands is always great fun and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We hope you enjoy our wines when you get home and hope to see you in South Africa again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wine Escapes give you a tailor made trip to suit your tastes, they are flexible on timings and take you to explore the smaller vineyards in the area rather than the large coach trip ones.
John was a great guide with lots of knowledge about the wine industry in South Africa, easy conversation and gave us lots of information without it being overload. The places we visited were fabulous and the wines delightful.The booklet in the gift bag for making notes on the wines you are tasting was a really nice touch. I will definitely go again next time I go to Cape Town.

Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and for those beautiful pictures. We are truly blessed to be able to show off our incredible Winelands to our guests. Look forward to seeing you again when you are back in SA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

You'll find this wonderful estate at the end of Lourensford road. A short distance past the entrance to the magnificent Vergelegen estate you'll fine the entrance to Lourensford. This is one of the larger estates in the Somerset West area having been estate around 1700. Like all farms in this area, the wines are superb. Try their Shiraz, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay...you won't be disappointed. If you enjoy bubblies the Lourensford Méthade Cap Classic is yours for the asking. The restaurant is closed on Mondays.

Thank Basspro-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for the review, although I think this was meant for Lourensford Wine Estate. It is a beautiful place and well worth a visit! Why not come on a wine tour with us next time and we'll introduce you to some more gems in the Winelands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I just finished our tour with wine escapes. It was an amazing day. John had such a good relationship with the wineries and was so knowledgable about wine and the area.

We learned so much about the area and the vineyards and the conversation was easy and friendly. He catered to your tastes to ensure a maximum level of enjoyment.

It was an amazing time and I will definitely do it again the next time I am back in the stellenbosch area.

Thank MWAM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

That was a quick review, thank you very much! we are glad you enjoyed your day so much and of course our wines. Enjoy the rest of your stay in SA and soak up the sun before heading home to Canada!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing