We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spend the day!”

Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Escapes was born out of a love for South Africa, its great wine and a passion to share our wine culture and heritage. Our vision is thus to partner with various wine farms in building South Africa's reputation as a wine destination of choice. To do this we offer specialized, exclusive wine tours where guests are introduced to some of the best Estates and wines, whilst providing them with excellent service and hospitality.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a great tour of the beautiful Stellenbosch region with John. He's truly passionate about what he does & has a great way of imparting his knowledge without being condescending about it. The complimentary gift bags with wine glasses, chocolate etc. was a also a very nice touch.
We visited 3 vineyards - Thelema, La Motte (where we had a great lunch) & Muratie. In-between he even took us on a little tour of Franschoek since we had'nt been there yet.
Everything is at your own pace, nothing is hurried or following a set schedule or anything. It really felt like an old friend of ours was showing us around the region.
We had a marvellous trip in the Western Cape & really the day spent with John was one of the highlights of our trip.

Thank kaytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a relaxing, fun day in our amazing Winelands. Wine should be unhurried, relaxing and a great way to celebrate friendship. See you back in South Africa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 189 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

John took us on an afternoon wine tour to Jordan's and Waterford wines estates. Both were beautifully presented. John asked us prior to departure what our favourite wine was and tailored our tour to those tastes. He shared his knowledge in a friendly and interesting way. He has a genuine interest in all things wine and we agreed with Mark O in that we felt we were with an old friend. We were impressed with South African wine, loved the wine and chocolate tasting at Waterford.
This is an absolute must for anyone interested in doing a wine tour in the Stellenbosch area. We ended up with a few bottles stashed in our luggage.

Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always great to travel around our winelands with people who love our wines, thank you for spending the day with us. Enjoy those stashed bottles in your comparative tasting. Hope SA wins!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Whenever we open a bottle of South African wine, we fondly think of our wonderful wine-tour with John and Sherry. We thoroughly enjoyed our tailor-made wine-tour and it was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa! Such truly knowledgeable and experienced wine-guides are a rare find! We had a most enjoyable and relaxing day, but at the same time we learnt SO much! The restaurant where we had lunch (upon their recommendation) was absolutely fabulous too! We give them (John and Sherry) a 5 star rating not only for their tour but also because they are such friendly and welcoming guides. We absolutely recommend them to anyone who would want a personal but highly professional service. Hannah & Andi Hertig, Zürich, Switzerland

Thank HannahChilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It certainly was a beautiful day and we are so glad you enjoyed it. Keep on opening our Wines and remembering our amazing winelands!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Wow - a birthday with a difference for sure! My girlfriend Louise had planned the whole day in secret and John had been nothing but helpful - arranging a tailored personal tour over email. Spending time in the fabulous Stellenbosch vineyards would be amazing anyway - but what really made the day was John's expert knowledge and amiable personality. Not sure if it was the wine, but by early afternoon it was more like we were travelling with an old friend rather than an expert we’d met that morning. We were also chuffed later on in our holiday when another tour guide mentioned all three of the vineyards we’d visited as part of the best 5! We’re now blazing Scotland telling all of the merits of SA wine - and were delighted to find some Waterford at the shop at the end of our road! Interesting, warm and generous - we hope to be able to do this again in the future with John and Wine Escapes.

Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was indeed a privilege to spend your birthday with you and we are so glad you enjoyed it. Keep punting South Africas Wines, they are the best!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and two friends from Norway spent a lovely day with John who shared his knowledge and expertise in the best way possible in regards to wine, wine pairing and the history of the beautiful winelands. I have been living in Cape Town for the last three years and therefore I have been exposed to the winelands before, this was by far the best day in the winelands in these three years.

Thank LindaTorege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you so much for the review, we appreciate it. The winelands are so lovely and that day was probably the most perfectly beautiful day we have spent in them. The Cape winter spoilt us with a great day. Enjoy your food and wine pairing experiments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing