We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class wine tour!”

Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Escapes was born out of a love for South Africa, its great wine and a passion to share our wine culture and heritage. Our vision is thus to partner with various wine farms in building South Africa's reputation as a wine destination of choice. To do this we offer specialized, exclusive wine tours where guests are introduced to some of the best Estates and wines, whilst providing them with excellent service and hospitality.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First class wine tour!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

During our trip to Cape Town at the end of February 2012, our family (parents with teenager) had the privilege to be guided through the Stellenbosch wine country by John. He selected fantastic wineries for our tour - Rust en Vrede for a full tasting, Guardian Peak for an amazing Lunch, and Waterford Estate to finish with a wine and chocolate pairing... We discovered what we felt were some of the best wines and scenery South Africa has to offer. The entire experience was absolutely first class! John is an extremely knowledgeable and pleasant host. We would recommend his services to any wine enthusiast, no matter what your level of expertise. The memory of this day will remain as one of the best we have experienced, anywhere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Wine Escapes would like to say thank you for taking the time and writing a review! We truly appreciate your kind words! We agree with you, the scenery is spectacular, as are South African wines. We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply great experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I found Wine Escapes director John to be extremely personable and knowledgeable about his life's passion which no doubt is wine and in particular South African wine. We were collected from our Somerset West hotel and driven through some beautiful country on the way to the renowned Stellenbosch winelands region. Our winery visits were most interesting and I agree with Geraldine P that the wine and chocolate tasting is not to be missed. While we did not consider ourselves to have any expertise in the vagaries of wine we do know what we like and came away from our day out feeling that we had enjoyed a very educational and satisfying wine experience. John's offer of the many winelands wineries visit options and alternatives would please anyone as he tailors the day to suit his clients' preferences. For us it was right up there with the best of our South African holiday highlights.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We are thrilled you had a great day out in the Winelands with Wine Escapes. We absolutely enjoy those chocolate & wine pairings, especially when experiencing this in our renowned wine regions! Thank you so much for choosing us to spend the day with you both in our spectacular wine regions!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“guided wine tour”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

On January 11 , 2012 we had a really wonderful eine Tour with John. He knows all about wine and he will guide you to the wineries you would not have visited without him. He is also a profound expert in the history of the wine lands. It was a pleasure sharing a Day with him and I can recommend him highly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank arabis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate it very much! We love looking for new, exciting wineries that are off the beaten track, but make sure we always remember the long and fascinating history our South African Winelands have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Chocolate and wine - divine experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

A friend and I met John in September 2011. We had such an amazing day (which started with chocolate and wine tasting - yum). I am now so excited about wine and I have learnt so much about it. I can’t wait to plan a lunch/dinner party because at least this time I will know which wine to pair up with a particular meal. John was really friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend Wine Escapes to anyone who wants to go on an amazing wine tour with breathtaking views!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Yes the Capes' Vineyards do have some of the most spectacular views anywhere, we love them!! We hope you enjoy finding some exciting food and wine pairings as you discover more about the wonderful world of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing