We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

The Stables Restaurant at Vergelegen
Ranked #13 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the simplicity of dining out at the "Stables at Vergelegen". Classic, with a modern twist, the 'bistro' style restaurant offers a varied, contemporary menu of simple and visually delectable dishes for a relaxed, family friendly dining experience. Whilst sipping on award-winning wines, enjoy breath-taking views of the Hottentots Holland mountain range and soak up the creative juices of the varied and eclectic local artists whose art works adorn the walls. (Breakfast and lunch served Monday - Sunday).
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a wonderfully warm greeting on arrival which set the tone for a delightful dining experience in beautiful surroundings. The menu complemented the unpretentious atmosphere; the food was delicious inspite of them getting an order wrong. The gardens and the house are spectacular. A truly lovely day out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    164
    58
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Really good vibe and layout - great for kids and business lunches. Can recommend it to families over the weekends and business people during the week.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDvanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Our truly amazing end to the weekend”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Not only is this restaurant extremely classy and set in one of the most beautiful areas and and on one of the most exquisite wine farms in the Cape, but it also caters for kids in a very big way, but not in a way that is invasive to the rest of the patrons. Not only are kids constantly entertained but patrons are welcome to take a lovely walk around the farm after their meal by way of visiting the formal gardens, museums, Camphor forest, maze, etc.
This past Sunday we held our youngest's 5th birthday party at The Stables and as it was a rather large party that would take up most of the day, we were awarded a private area close to the duck pond under two beautiful trees, adjacent to the restaurant but away from the rest of the diners. The area was set up with outdoor lounge furniture, coffee tables and picnic blankets for the kids. Not only were we assisted extensively in organising the party, but the help and service we received on the day was just phenomenal. Even our 6 year old daughter was kept busy when she no longer wanted to play outside. The food was out of this world, plus the resident chef agreed to make delicious fruit and dark chocolate snacks for the kids to pick on. All in all an outstanding day was had by all - we did NOT want to go home!! A very big thank you to Ann-Margarette for making this all possible as well as to Jason, chef and the rest of your ama-zing crew who helped on the day. We'll be back!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobynGailNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I decided to go to The Stables for lunch on Wednesday. Despite not having booked and the restaurant being quite full, we were met by a very charming front of house man who assured us that he would find us a table - which he did. The Vergelegen wines are very well priced and the bottle of shiraz we chose was excellent. As it was lunchtime and we just wanted a light meal, we decided to share a garlic pizza, greek salad and a main course of fried calamari. All three were outstanding, with the calamari being one of the best we've ever eaten. The service was attentive and friendly and everything was absolutely perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and child friendly”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Took my wife, our twins of almost 3, grand parents and great grandparents there, and had a wonderful time. We had coffees and fresh orange juice. Had a "deluxe" myself-really well presented, and very tasty. Wife and dad had eggs benedict, and great grandmother had lovely french toast. Menu is a bit limited, but changes every 4 months.
Really nice setting with the most beautiful garden, and probably one of the best ever kids play area! Overall, one of the best breakfast places I've been to in a while.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables Restaurant at Vergelegen also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Stables Restaurant at Vergelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing