We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real taverna, good food and vibe”
Review of Casa Valdez

Casa Valdez
Ranked #56 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a real taverna, good food and vibe”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Lovely little place with a lot of character; My wife and I had very tasty portuguese peri peri chicken (if I have to criticize, then it could have been a bit more crispy); the kids calamari strips were just OK (they didn't finish it). The sticky toffee pudding was so divine it nearly caused a family riot (because we decided to share).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EduardMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere in this place as we stopped by without knowing what kind of place it was. We were lucky to be early enough not to need a reservation. The hostess was helpful to recommend good meals for the children, and the waiters were very nice. I liked the simplicity of the menu.The food was good -be warned by the piri piri sauce! and fairly authentic. I would recommend this place also for a large group because the acoustics are such that you're not easily bothered by other tables' noise levels.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food is good, ambience is comfortable. All spoiled by numerous do's and don'ts. No sharing, corkage, no bill splitting, etc,etc. capped by the common scam of adding a 10% service charge and then inviting you to add a tip! Takes the edge off a good restaurant with a nasty little sharp practice. Will go again but be careful about reading the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CroquetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A fantastic vibe, live music and the food is great! Especially Thursday evenings. Bookings are essential. just love this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PriveeMarinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Portuguese food in a very homely restaurant”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you like peri-peri, garlic and lots of chicken and seafood, this is the place to go! The menu was disappointing on first glance and so predictable but boy, the food was good. Both the sardine starter and the calamari starter were very tasty. The beef espetada was excellent as were the prego roll, the chicken peri-peri and the butterfish peri-peri. We did not even try the desserts as we were stuffed! Good value, very popular and very tasty!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Valdez also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Casa Valdez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing