We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wines lands stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Vredenburg Manor Estate, is the best kept secret in the wine lands. The rooms are comfortable, extremely luxurious, and furnished with classic contemporary finishes. We enjoyed time spent around the pool, where we would sample the many wines and cheese selections from Stellenbosch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will without a doubt be returning to this gorgeous guest house. P.S. Gardens and old farm house are a treat for anyone passing by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 209 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a treat you have in store should you choose to stay in this idyllic Guest House. The family run Manor House is tastefully decorated, with your every need catered for. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Christo and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast on the veranda was superb. The walks around the estate are safe and the pool is large enough to have a good swim. We stayed for two weeks and did not want to leave. In fact we will be coming back in 2015.
Pauline and David

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The ground floor room opens up onto the veranda. The upstair rooms share a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay 7 nights at this wonderful remote but centrally located Guest House in the Somerset wine region. Having been a family estate previously before being turned into this guest house, one can still feel the history and heritage of the place as well as the warmth and coziness of a private home. Christos, Anja & the rest of the well selected team have been very attentive, warm hearted and given wonderful advise on sites to see, activities to do and have welcomed & treated us with kindness & professionalism. The lush garden, swimmingpool & terasse have been the perfect quiet haven to relax when coming back from trips around the area. The 5 guest rooms plus 2 selfcatering cottages is the perfect size if you are looking for quietness but some company. Thank you for a new place like home!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank ckaesshoefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, well appointed kitchen. Setting is park-like with so many squirrels darting about - they were a delight to watch, scurrying up and down trees and chasing each other around! We really enjoyed our stay and the surroundings. We went for a lovely walk around the estate as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Thank you Christo and Vredenburg staff for accommodating us before our Wines2Whales mountain bike stage race. A great looking farm and manor house restored to pristine condition, settled amongst the hills of Somerset area. Hope to see you again soon!
Dr Wynand van der Merwe

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I booked into Vredenberg for a night before the start of the Wine to Whales mountain bike ride. Vredenberg is a lovely 1800 manor house surrounded by old oak trees and pristine gardens that really captivates the feel of the Cape Winelands. The Manor House has been meticulously restored to a very high specification and contains some amazing Cape Dutch antique furniture and books,

We stayed in Room 5, which Mandy rated as good as any 5 * hotel we have stayed in. Room 5 was great - lovely view overlooking spacious patio and gardens. Happy wife = happy husband.

Christo and the Vredenberg staff went out of their way - bent over backwards - to accommodate our every need. Breakfast was served at 6am to accommodate our early start.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great - lovely view overlooking spacious patio and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vredenburg Mano... G, General Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Warwick and Mandy
Was great hosting you. Next time you should stay longer and try out some of our local MTB - routes in the area. Christo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friendly, warm, welcoming home away from home. Olden day splendour, very cosy and romantic.

The owners make you feel right at home! Beatiful surrounds, views and garden.

Wonderful complete breakfast!

Can recommend to anyone!Excellent value for money!!

Will see you again most certainly!

Almarette de Wet (Rosie&Kobus)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rettels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vredenburg Mano... G, Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello Almarette.

Thank you for the great review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting

It was absolute pleasure hosting Rosie and Kobus.

Kind regards

Vredenburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
5.8 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
355 reviews
5.5 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 82 in Somerset West
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#16 of 82 in Somerset West
141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 82 in Somerset West
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: $88 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing