We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stellenbosch/somerset west accommodation - go no further!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 80 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jhb
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stellenbosch/somerset west accommodation - go no further!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful surrounds and gardens, glorious old manor house (circa 1800's), however with modern and luxurious finishings. Oak trees, squirrels, ducks etc.

Breakfasts and servise top class. Plenty parking and safe environment.

Room Tip: Any, but self catering flatlets great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
105
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mpumalanga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My stay at Vredenburg Manor this time was for a get-away and once again, thoroughly enjoyable. A peaceful and tastefully decorated home away from home, especially to unwind in. The room was very comfortable, equipped with a fantastic mattress, an assortment of pillows and quality towels (heated towel rail). Situated in the wine lands, I find the location central, enabling you to take in all that Cape Town has to offer. The staff are warm, efficient and friendly and serve scrumptious breakfasts. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 5 s on the ground floor and has access to the patio and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The experience that Ian and myself have at Vredenburg Manor House is always a really good one. This is why we continue to stay at your B&B. The service is really good, friendly and warm. The rooms are very comfortable, clean with the emphasize on tasteful style and interior. We would recommend this accomodation with out a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clarissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Exception service. REALLY well looked after but I found the property in general lacking in character. Brilliant place for business travel but a little unexciting for a special weekend or a holiday. Well located for winelands and Stellenbosch though and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Luludavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vredenburg Mano... G, General Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Contacted the guest afterwards to get ideas on improving. Feedback:
"I want to stress that we booked into Vredenburg for one night as we needed somewhere to stay on the night of my daughter’s matric dance – she is at Somerset College and we live in Cape Town. It was not a work trip or a site inspection and Vredenburg suited our needs perfectly. We arrived late, went out to dinner and then left after breakfast the next day so I had very little exposure to the property as a whole.

We were brilliantly looked after (even being given a jar of homemade marmalade to take home) and I could not fault the service and accommodation – beds were extremely comfortable and rooms well equipped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply this is a fantastic place to stay - set in the outlying Somerset West area, it should be a must for anyone looking for excellent accommodation at a very reasonable rate. I stayed in the self catering unit for 2 nights, and could not find fault with anything. A super comfy bed, beautiful bathroom with a great shower and well equipped kitchen.
The setting is beautiful, the staff and owners are very friendly and welcoming.
You are far enough from the hustle and bustle to relax, but close enough to enjoy the best that the Cape has to offer.
The deluxe units in the guest house are stunning and well worth the extra charge per night, having a lovely view of the Stellenbosch mountains from the main window.
Do yourself a favor and book this - I have stayed in many places around Cape Town and this is my favorite so far

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and regretted not staying for longer. Rooms are of a high standard with 5 star touches. The linen and towels are beautiful and the fresh coffee plungers in the room with biscotti are a very nice touch. The staff are friendly but not intrusive. Martine and Christo went out of their way to guide us with their local knowledge. We had some memorable day trips and wonderful evening meals, through their input. They and their staff work extremely hard. This is a perfect location to spend touristy days in Capetown and lazy days in the wine area. The pool and gardens are perfect to come back to relax and unwind. We would not consider staying anywhere else, and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: They are all good and the beds are extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Vredenburg Manor House 17th - 21st March 2013.

Location: out of the city, therefore nice and quiet and very picturesque, but yet close enough to Somerset West and Stellenbosch Centre and under 30 minutes’ drive to the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town.

Room: Fantastic and very large with lovely views, plenty of cupboard space, big bed and all very well maintained. Good sized safe in room. Large TV and free WIFI. Tea/Coffee making facilities and fresh fruit in the room.

Bathroom: Separate toilet, double shower, large bath, double basins – and again very clean. Nice thick soft towels, replaced daily.

Breakfast: The reason why we did not give 5 stars. Unfortunately there was always something not 100%, either the eggs and bacon were overdone or the eggs were too runny. However what we really disliked was that you had to decide already at breakfast the day before what you would like the next day and at which time you would like to have your breakfast.

However, overall we definitely would go back there if visiting the area again.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double room and I believe that all rooms in the main house are equally nice. I canno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vredenburg Mano... G, General Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and great feedback. Also pleased to give feedback regarding the breakfast and the issues which occurred: We have changed the pre-ordering system, and mainly due to your feedback. . We appointed a sjef since your last visit and all staff has been given detailed training.

Looking forward to your next visit with us. Regards. Christo and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
5.8 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 80 in Somerset West
366 reviews
4.5 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 80 in Somerset West
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 80 in Somerset West
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 80 in Somerset West
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay View Somerset West
Bay View Somerset West
#14 of 80 in Somerset West
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Property: Vredenburg Manor House
Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing