We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 80 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My recent stay at Vredenburg Manor House was excellent and exceeded my expectations. The sumptuous breakfast is served on the terrace over looking the gorgeous well-kept gardens and pool - the perfect way to start one's day.

The spacious guest cottages are decorated to a high standard with an eye for detail.

The Vredenburg is in the ideal location to explore the local wine farms, or to pop into Stellenbosch.

The owners and staff made me feel extra special and welcome - their hospitality went the extra mile!

This is a property I would certainly recommend and I will returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
105
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freilassing, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a 12 night stay in dez 2012. 6 night in room no1. With breakfast. Beautyful, spacious room with a wonderul bathroom. The room was very quiet and clean.
The other 6nights we stayed in one of the self catering cottages.
Here you get a nice room and also a huge bathroom. If you like to cook, you will get a fully equiped kitchen. At the backdoor you will have a private garden with braai grill.
We had wonderfull warm nights and had. Our self prepaired meals in the garden with some wine from the region.
If you do not like to cook, there are very good restaurants like 96 vinery or stephanies place to reach in 15 min driving distance.
The pool area ist nice too. There are 6 sunbeds and umbrellas, the pool is a saltwaterpool, noz zo big, but suffizient.
Please note, you need a car.
You are in 45 min. In capetown, 10min. In somerset west and stellenbosch, and if you like in 20 min. At nike beaches.
There is a lot to do, such as wine tasting, mountain hiking, 5golfcourses in 15 minutes, and a lot of other courses in 30-45 minutes.
Thank you martine and christo for the beautiful days we could spend at your place
Heidi and norbert

Room Tip: Take room no 1 with breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gehtoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a tastefully furnished (antiques- which I love),upmarket, guest house, conveniently located between Somerset West & Stellenbosch. Wine route / beaches / V&A water front all close by. Dinner reservation made at the receommended restaurant, 96 on Winery Road- excellent meal. Peace and tranquility best describe the ambiance at the guest house. The service is very personal, catering for all your needs. I stayed in a deluxe suite which was spacious and equipped with exceptional lighting throughout. Good quality linen and a selection of pillows to suit all needs. And dont let forget the aircon for the middle of summer. Exquisite bathroom, with heated towel rail, dbl basin, dbl head shower and large bath. More than adequate cupboard and storage space for a long stay. Facility in your room to make filter coffee. There are many lounges to relax in, while reading a book. Breakfast was serviced on the verandha, over looking the pool area and always scrumptious (far too much for an expanding waistline!), with a packed breakfast for the long road, on departure. The patio is equipped with ceiling fans. My booking was for 5 nights on a business trip, but extended for another day to enjoy Cape Town. This is value for money accommodation in the area, especially considering the facilities offered. Not well known yet, but "Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pamper yourself in a deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband sent me away for four days to get some much needed rest and relaxtion. This Guest House was more than perfect. Its was not only stunningly beautiful but peaceful and the hosts were so wonderful to me.
Breakfast on the stoep was magical and I was made to feel so at home. My room was gorgeous, and my bathroom was huge!
Thank you so much for making it absolutely perfect!!!
I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brakpan, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My second stay at the lovely Vredenburg Manor House! It's not just the wonderful setting, beautiful furnishing and superb service, but by far the personal touches and kindness of Martine and her team. Hand packed lunch boxes for early morning trips, reservations at highly recommended restaurants and all that makes life easy when away on business!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Magical! We had our wedding at Vredenburg Manor, an unforgettable, enchanting, magical day it was, Vredenburg Manor has got such a glorious atmosphere, the gardens are kept beautifully, with little quaint nooks and crannies everywhere and a beautiful view of the mountains. This was perfect for a lush garden party,(with a lovely barn for back-up in case of bad weather) The setting is just breathtaking, a real gem. My favourite part is the stoep overlooking the pool, I could easily grow old here! We stayed in the self catering cottages, which was perfect for me and my giggling bridesmaids, not to disrupt the rest of the quests in the Manor house. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and luxuriously comfortable. Thanks to Martine and Christo who run the Manor for all the help and support, we had an unforgettable day. We will be back, no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaennemare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I first stayed there for 2 days when I travelled with my family through South Africa in 09/2012. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place (fantastic building, luxurious rooms, library, fireplace-room,...) and the kindness of the hosts.

I then came back to SA for a business trip and stayed there for 2 weeks. I must say, for that purpose, I liked it even more.

The tranqulity and relaxed atmosphere of the place is wonderful. For all those business travellers who do not need to be in a big business hotel and do not need to be at the Waterfront or in the city center every day, but enjoy to stay in the beautyful countryside of the Winelands - Vredenburg Manor is perfect.

In the morning, you reach the airport (where I had to go) within 30 minutes by car. If you really need to go into town (CT), you should however calculate more time, because there will be a traffic jam inward. In the evening back to Vredenburg: even quicker.

Breakfast is also excellent. Not as big as in the big hotels - but still every whish that you have will be taken care of. For example, I did not want that large breakfast every day, so I got my own small special joghurt brekfast every day...

In the evening: Either enjoyed restaurants in the area (2-10 km away). Or had my own home-made smaller supper there. Again: I enjoyed to have a "private" supper there - if I have to go out for dinner every day for two weeks, at some point of time you can't stand that any more...

Rooms and house: Only if you stay there for longer, you can really enjoy the pleasures of the guesthouse. I enjoyed sitting on the veranda or at the fireplace and enjoy book/ wine/ ... Or feel like at home in the spaceous rooms.

Plus again a big compliment to the hosts: They really care about you and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible!

Only slight disadvantage compared to hotels at that quality level, is in my eyes the lack of a gym. But that disadvantage is outweighted by all the positive items as mentioned before. And remember - it's a guest house, not hotel. (I chose to go jogging through the vinjars instead...)

So - see you again soon, Martine and Christo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
5.8 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 80 in Somerset West
366 reviews
4.5 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 80 in Somerset West
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 80 in Somerset West
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 80 in Somerset West
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay View Somerset West
Bay View Somerset West
#14 of 80 in Somerset West
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Property: Vredenburg Manor House
Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing