We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”
Review of Sofia's at Morgenster - CLOSED

Sofia's at Morgenster
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sofia’s at Morgenster is based in a rustic cottage overlooking the olive groves and vineyards of the estate. The dishes prepared use only the freshest local and seasonally available produce. The flavours and tastes of the menu are modernised classic dishes which change weekly.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just fantastic food and the staff was excellent. We sat out on the lawn under the trees and enjoyed one of the best meals during our stay in SA, and we had many great meals. The wines went well with the food and they change menu very often so you can keep coming back here over and over again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for joining us for a meal under the tree's which is always a treat to experience when the weather plays along.

Thank you for taking the time to write a few words of your experience. The chef and front of house team are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food was extrodinary and the pairing excellenty done. The portions are quite big for such fine cuisine - we were very impressed. The ice-cream that come with my dessert were so delicious and I recognised the spice cardamom in it. When I asked the waiter whether it was cardamom, he returned with the recipe from the chef! I would definitely return for another fantastic dining experience. It is a bit pricey (if you are a local), but great value for money and you really want to do the 3 course meal for a taste bud sensation like no other!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alweri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in our establishment.

We are all very happy that your overall experience was so well received. The chef is always happy to hear such great things about the food they prepare, and also that the wines selected work well with these dishes.

We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We settled on an early Valentine's Day lunch as I will be on the road on the day and Sofia's beckoned. We chose the 3 course menu accompanied by wine option (R310 pp) and it was seriously good. We both ordered the chicken and quail terrine as a starter accompanied by a glass of Hartzenberg Riesling. Then my man ordered the beef fillet with beetroot which came with a glass of Painted Wolf Pinotage (which he felt rather let down the dish with its lack of body) while I had the fish of the day which was trout accompanied by a glass of Chenin Blanc from Post House - a winery to watch out for with its excellent wines. The trout dish was probably the best main course I have had since moving to the Cape. The parma ham and creamy sauce with the potato gnocchi were absolutely delicious. For dessert my man chose the "wilde bessie clafouti" which was accompanied by a jug of creme anglaise and a small bowl of vanilla icecream which he pronounced outstanding. My dessert was the creme brulee with fruit and icecream - all delicious, but the brulee lost its crust with the wet fruit sitting on it. The dessert wines served alongside fitted both puddings perfectly with mine being smooth and marmelady, and my husband's being raisiny. Service was attentive and quite fast and the surroundings really lovely. Certainly one meal I will not forget.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your lunch experience with us.

The chefs and front of house team are all very happy that your entire experience from food to the wines and service was so well received.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a brilliant restaurant; the menu apparently changes every 7 or 8 weeks but I enjoyed delicious starter of salmon and avocado terrinne, followed by the ox liver for main course which was perfect portion size and perfectly cooked on puree of potato and carrot, and finished with wonderful decadent chocolate tort which did not have the usual drop dead weight that so many often do. My family all enjoyed their respective meals and I did taste the trout main and two of the other desserts; all delicious! Wines were great as was the service. Certainly worth coming all the way from Switzerland for a meal like this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for the lovely words that you have taken the time to write.

The Chef Patron is very happy that you enjoyed the salmon and avocado terrine so much and also the the rest of you meal. The entire cheffing team are thrilled that your entire culinary experince at Sofia's was so well received.The chefs are currently changing the menu every 10 - 14 days, and we number as per the week of the year which is very exciting.

The entire front of house team are also very happy that they were able to provide you and your family with "great" service and wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We held our daughter's wedding reception at Sofia's in December and were not disappointed. The food was outstanding (again), the staff helpful & attentive and the whole experience memorable. Thank you Craig, Michelle and all the staff - you made our day!
If you are looking for a personal intimate atmosphere then Sofia's is the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SallyManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you fort aking the time to write a review of your experience here at the restaurant.
Thank you for the kind words and we (chefs and front of house team) were very happy to to make your daughter's evening special.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofia's at Morgenster also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing