We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofia's at Morgenster - CLOSED

Sofia's at Morgenster
Cuisines: French, International, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sofia’s at Morgenster is based in a rustic cottage overlooking the olive groves and vineyards of the estate. The dishes prepared use only the freshest local and seasonally available produce. The flavours and tastes of the menu are modernised classic dishes which change weekly.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
259 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I never knew about Sofia's until I saw it on tripadvisor. We decided to give it a try and so glad we did. Very nice setting - super friendly staff and great food. Always fresh seasonal ingredience with a two weekly change in the menu. Something different and really worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to find us on Tripadvisor, reading about us, and then coming to visit the restaurant and experience it for yourselves as well.

We are truly happy that your experience was enjoyed both on a service level as well as the culinary level. We will be sure to pass on your kind words for the staff to them, as they do strive for that WOW effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Craig is one fo SA's great chefs.. his food is stylish and layered in composition. Great restaurant on a beautiful property.

Helpful?
Thank Greatest A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Good day. Chef Craig Cormack thanks you for your kind words both for himself as well as for Sofia's at Morgenster (Restaurant on Morgenster Wine and Olive Estate).

We hope you will find the time to come visit the restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lamb ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Best lamb that i have ever eaten - literally melt-in-your-mouth. Friendly service, beautiful setting.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LezanneMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Good day. Thank you for visiting our establishment and also for taking the time to write a review. The chef is thrilled that the Lamb was so well enjoyed. Look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have been to this restaurant many many times,sadly we don't live in Cape Town any more.
We desperately miss the wonderful food we had there and the really creative menus which change every week.
So far haven't found food to rival it.
Everything is fresh and homemade,very friendly and lovely staff,not to mention fantastic surroundings, Sophia's we miss you so much.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookie609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. When you are next in Cape Town, We hope you will have the time to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Cosy atmosphere, fantastic food and great staff. Craig's winter soups are the best I have ever tasted. A great place to wile away a cold wet Cape afternoon

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01Sofias, Manager at Sofia's at Morgenster, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, every mention helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofia's at Morgenster also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing