We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tranquil Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Room With a View B&B
Ranked #24 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Tranquil Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent last night at Room with a View.
Thank you for an extremely comfortable , delightfully decorated , peaceful stay,.
You can sleep with the windows wide open in the Helderberg Room.
Hanlie and Danie your wonderful hospitality made us feel very welcome and we hope to visit you again one day soon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beegee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Fortunately, wefound Room with a View and enjoeyed every day there with the fantastic view to the bay, wine yards and mountains. Breathtaking view combined with a excellent continental breakfast (nicely prepared, fresh and tasty), that's what we found. Hanli and Danie made a familiar stay possible: their warm and friendly wayto assist with golf booking, restaurant findings, places you must have seen, were discussed and made every day special. All rooms are well equipted, modern and state of the art, nicly decorated and is best condition. Bathrooms a sheer pleasure and the tranquillity surrounding to rest and relax, we have to mention. We will be back soon...

Room Tip: all pictures in the internet you find are reality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The unexpected beauty of the surroundings, tastefully decorated rooms and warm hospitality of the hosts Hanli and Danie, make this guesthouse a "must return". It is ideally situated for a holiday or business stay with stunning views and sunsets from private balconies. Anyone who needs a breakaway in this beautiful False Bay area, should consider "Room with a View" as a number one choice. Five star accommodation, breakfast, service and peace.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good. The Helderberg is perfect for a single person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a pleasant 2 night stay! Hanli was such a great hostess, always went an extra mile to make sure I was comfortable, even took care of my hay fever. I will most definitely recommend room with a view to friends and colleagues travelling to Somerset West.

Thank you and see you soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Highly recommended! Our room was to perfection, clean and closer to 5 star rating! Breakfast excellent. We found Danie and Hanli to be warm and helpful. Room with a view is now a top favourite and we will surely return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanelappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in "Room with a View" for eleven nights and we found it an ideal location exploring the winelands, driving to Hermanus, playing golf on different courses and to be close to some of SA's best restaurants like Camphor's at Vergelegen, Waterkloof or Rust en Vrede.
The guesthouse is located in a nice area of Somerset West high on the slopes of the "Schapenberg" and has gorgeous views over the False Bay up to he Cape Peninsular. It also provides "off street parking".
The "Ocean View" appartement is a modern beautifully decorated large room with a small kitchenette and a large "state of the art" bathroom.
Everything was spotlessly clean thanks to the service team, who actually did deserve a tip for an outstanding job.
Our Hosts Hanli and Dani our hosts gave us a warm welcome and were very helpfu in every respect.
We enjoyed the excellent breakfast and also the conversations with other guests in the morning, it was really interesting to exchange opinions and experiences
We enjoyed every day of our stay and if the occasion arises, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I write this review as advise to the owners and not as critic. An absolute beautiful place with the best view ever but....
- we arrived at10:45 to be informed at the gate (not at the door) that we are too early to check-in after I made a special arrangement with the owner and she agreed that it will suit her as she has a function to go to. Not a very pleasant welcome, however they showed us to our room, and allowed us to quickly change clothes for a function before we left.
- in the room she explained the functions of the tv remotes and the normal house rules. To our surprise she also informed us that should we decide to use the aircon we will be charged extra. What a surprise....you surely to not expect that after paying R1 400 per night.
- at check-in please make sure that you are aware of the fact that your guests have paid a deposit or the full amount. Do not ask your guests whether they have paid a deposit.
- breakfast was served in the dining room with a stunning view, but please do not set one table for all the guests rather asked whether a couple would like to sit alone. You do not always feel like making conversation with strangers
-after leaving the breakfast table I informed the host that I did make use of the bar fridge and drank two bottles of water. She told me Í don't have to pay for the water but I could tip the room staff should I feel like it. I do not have a problem with tipping staff if they deserve it, but these people cleaning my room work for a salary. Sorry I did not leave a tip!
I do not think we will be back, as this was suppose to be my birthday celebration, but both myself and my husband was rather irrated by all the rules and regulations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeleineB5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lalapanzi Lodge
Lalapanzi Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sir Lowry's Pass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Sights B&B
Somerset Sights B&B
#23 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
KaapsePracht Bed & Breakfast
KaapsePracht Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.7 mi away
African Dreams
African Dreams
#28 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#19 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View B&B

Property: Room With a View B&B
Address: 42 Romulus Street, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located Cape Town Accommodation is nestled on the slopes of the sighing hilltops of Western Cape / Hottentots Holland Mountains. You can lie in bed and take in the mountain vistas and panoramic views of False Bay - unmatched and breathtaking sea views from Gordon's Bay to Cape Town. This elegant Somerset West guesthouse offers three luxurious en-suite bedrooms, with king-size double beds lead out onto balconies with breathtaking views. The spacious bedrooms, elegantly decorated with luxurious linen, all allow you to absorb the breathtaking sea views. We have recently been acclaimed (endorsed by) a superior Status 4 Star accommodation by the AA Quality Assured Assessment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Room With a View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View B&B Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing