We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Very Best There Is”
other traveler has booked this property
62 Granite Close Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
62 Granite Close Exterior
Luxury Apartment Lounge Luxury Apartment kitchen & open plan lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
62 Granite Close Exterior
Luxury Apartment Lounge
Luxury Apartment kitchen & open plan lounge
Luxury Apartment Kitchen
Luxury Apartment Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment complete Bedroom
Luxury Apartment Bathroom
Luxury Apartment patio
Luxury Apartment lounge & patio area
2016 HotelsCombined Recognition of Excellence Award
View March 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Teun9
Voorburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Very Best There Is”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We travelled a lot in the past fifteen years, stayed in good hotels, were happy in various Bed & Breakfast’s but for us the most wonderful experience came last January. To escape the cold weather in Holland, we went to play golf in South Africa for the eight’s time and this time we would try self-catering. From the internet we chose Vrede in Somerset West. Somerset West, because it is ideally situated. Golf courses, beaches, restaurants and wine estates are abundant. Even Cape Town is only 20 minutes by car.
Vrede Self Catering is situated in the secure Boskloof Eco Estate. Choosing this place turned out to be the best thing we could ever have done. All positive reactions we read prior to our arrival could not cover the reality. Maggie and Charles, the hosts, manage to give you the most wonderful feeling of being home away from home. Really nothing is too much and in the unlikely event you have anything extra to desire, it is a done deal almost even before you can mention it. A perfect place to stay: vast apartment, beautiful interior, astonishing views, nice surroundings, perfect service, luxury, warmth........ it has it all!
For sure we will always come back here, when it is cold in Holland.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, nothing barred!
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave.....
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewed March 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walkers Fruit Farms
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WestSusse...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A secret treasure!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where do we start? We stayed at Vrede as part of a month's visit to the Winelands. We stayed at various types of accommodation, including rather expensive hotels and B&Bs. This was our 4th visit to the area. Vrede far exceeded our expectations and without a doubt provided the best value for money.

We stayed in the Modern Bedsitter, which was beautifully appointed and provided every facility we needed, not to mention spectacular views from our own private patio area!

Our hostess Maggie was wonderful and could not do enough to ensure our comfort and happiness during our 10 day stay.

We were so impressed that we are currently planning a return visit for a much longer period, before too many people discover the secret treasure known as Vrede!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Can't think of a thing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dtim
London
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vrede Self Catering and Maggie is wonderful! She went totally above and beyond during our stay, even placed a bottle of sparkling wine and a chocolate cake in the apartment when she heard it was my birthday! The accommodation is clean, spacious and all the furnishings are of a high quality. The apartment is also very child friendly and everything you could possibly need is provided. I can highly recommend Vrede Self Catering.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host is wonderful and really made our stay.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GertyPoes...
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 star accommodation for a B&B price”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at Vrede Self Catering for Christmas 2012 and enjoyed every minute of it.

The accommodation is very modern, well-equipped and professionally run. The location is great too: it was less that 30 minutes drive from the airport situated in a stunning eco-estate in Somerset West.

Our unit was one of the smaller ones, so we didn't have a pool. Maggie (the owner) was very accommodating: she invited us to use her pool at any time during our stay. She was very friendly, but not overbearing in any way. She made us feel like we were at home!

Even though we only had the small unit we wanted for nothing. It was fully air conditioned, very clean, comfortable and spacious. Everything you could think of was there. Maggie had thought of everything!

I normally prefer to stay in well-appointed hotels since "self-catering" or "B&B" conjures up images of a little old lady who constantly wants to chat and have you "pet her cat". Maggie managed to change my mind very quickly, and I'd far prefer staying here again to any of the hotels in the nearby vicinity.

I'd recommend this if you want a stylish, well-appointed place to stay that can accommodate anything from two to eight people (there's several units available in the same estate) in luxury. It's also very close to the wine routes, Cape Town, Table Mountain, etc.

Best of all: it was very reasonably priced. I'd happily recommend this to anyone I know.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's friendly, accommodating manner and her attention to detail
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayley S
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Maggie more than a hostess, better than a friend”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We were met by Maggie and made to feel welcome by her warm smile and charisma.

Our expectations were met over and above. As it was Christmas season, a tree awaited us with prezzies, crackers and lots of warmth and love.

Our daughter developed an ear infection, and being holiday season, most chemists were closed. However, Maggie whipped us off in her car and soon we were back home with all the necessary medication and Kayley was back on the mend.

I also had some friends come over, and we got stuck in a traffic jam, so we were late in meeting with them, when we finally arrived back to our gorgeous little haven. Maggie had welcomed our guests, and made them feel so at home in our absense.

Maggie was so much more than just a hostess, she has become part of our family.

Thank you for your hospitality, and we will most certainly be visiting your beautiful home again. In a nutshell, it was a home from home experience.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, accomadation, our hostess, too much to mention
Liked least: Kayley ear infection
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing