We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Grill - CLOSED

Riverside Grill
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Mediterranean, Grill, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
south africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Weran out of this. We went for a function in Dec. We had all pre-ordered and when qwe arrived the waiters tried to take our orders again. Waited too long, food arrived cold and I mean cold....cold lambs liver is not nice! When it was returned to us it was still not hot. Others had ordered chicken dishes and they ran out of chicken!! Surely if you know how many have pre-ordered you have enough in stock! Was not impressed with the food or service but the surroundings are very nice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank somersetwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Coming from Sweden, eating my first steak was better then expected! I now understand why do many people talk about South African meat. Defiantly return to this lovely restaurant!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephine0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner which gave the entire restaurant a very homely feel. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting. A little stream runs through the plot which has a group of ducks that have found a home there. Weather permitting, the outside section is fantastic.
The food was incredible! For starters we had the salad, the mussels and the calamari which were one better than the other. The main course I had a one of the best T-bones I have had in long long time. One of my friends ordered the cape salmon and was also completely satisfied.
The fact that the owner took visible care in each and every patron further added to the experience.
I highly recommend this restaurant and will be returning in the not too distant future!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

If you are looking to excite your senses, Riverside Grill have the treat for you. Decor and Friendly waiters. The best thing about the place is the food. I recommend them to all my friends. Do yourself a favour and make a booking.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memory for life!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We got married at the riverside grill on the 26th of November 2011. An experience we can not forget! Each and every guest rated the food as one of their top 3 meals EVER!! It made us as a couple feel that the money spend was worth every rand and the service we received was out of this world! Well done to our host and his team!! You have to make the riverside grill not only a restaurant to visit, but a destination!!! Blessings the Diffenthals

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diffenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Grill also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing