We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant.”
Review of Chez Max Restaurant - CLOSED

Chez Max Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the Trading Post Complex on the corner of Caledon and Myburgh Street is the Restaurant Chez Max serving quality continental fare owned by Candice and Scott Murray since January 2006. Chez Max cuisine, explains Scott, is a mixture of classic and modern with a ‘bit of everything for everyone’. Some of the restaurant’s most popular dishes include The Ultimate Rosti, Veal Specialities, Pork Belly and Seafood. The Chez Max business philosophy is clear and unpretentious – much like the food. “In delivering simplicity,” says Scott. We understand that we must provide the best produce and service within traditional surroundings. A well considered wine list complements the menu and caters to all tastes designed with the flavours of the food in mind and fuelled by a desire to offer wines a cut above the average. Chez Max offers an excellent selection, and the friendly and well-trained staff, all of them who have been there a minimum of 3 years and more, which adds to a culture of community. (What we try to do here is make everyone that comes to Chez Max leave feeling contented and happy with what they have experience, explains Candice.
Somerset West
1 review
“Great restaurant.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A varied lunch menu was provided for the diners. Although it was a fairly large party and we arrived very much later than anticipated, we were made to feel very special and most welcome. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We will keep returning for more of the same service and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaySomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    10
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, good service - a little loud for my taste”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had one of the best springbock I've ever eaten at Chez Max. We all agreed: The food is just delicious! The service was attentive and friendly, too - so this far, Chez Max is a really recommendable restaurant.
However, the atmosphere wasn't as nice as in other restaurants in the area I had been to. If you want to sit outside, you sit right next to the parking lot. Inside, the room we were in was not very cozy and noise travelled easily, so it was rather loud. Also, I noticed it wasn't as top-notch clean as in other restaurants (i.e. the toilets - where I also couldn't even lock the door in absence of a key...)

Nevertheless, if you don't mind those aspects, I would still recommend Chez Max since the quality of the food is just too good to miss out on.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and Varied Dishes and Fine Wines at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

On all three evenings that I ate at Chez Max, the phone rang repeatedly with people trying to make bookings, but in vein. This restaurant is always full. Forget about dropping in or reserving a table on the same night. Many patrons eat there regularly. Why? Because the English chef and his South African wife run a superb little restaurant. In a country where value is demanded, Chez Max outdoes local competition. While the chef's Kingclip (SA fish) was my favorite, almost equally, I enjoyed his lamb curry and his marvelous veal in white wine sauce. If you are in Somerset West, eat at this restaurant - more than once, if you can. But if you want a smoke-free dinner, eat inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Deafening Friday!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

As usual, Scott produced excellent food. The service is also excellent and their wine list has everything we require.

As a regular at Chez Max, we generally visit them at least once a week, I have to say the "Swallows" can really spoil an evening. They are here for the summer, and are in holiday mode throughout. I just wish the these people, who would no doubt, NEVER be too loud, when frequenting their home town restaurants in Europe or UK, would extend us the courtesy of allowing normal conversation levels in our restaurants! The level of conversation is just too loud. It is as unacceptable as the males who do don't remove their hat in doors and particularly at the table. (In my book, only ladies can keep their hats on!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate outside on a lovely summer evening...had a marvelous dinner! We would happily return at any time...truly delicious food, excellent wine, and wonderful ambiance. Thank you , Maurize, at Albourne House, for such a great recommendation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max Restaurant also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing