We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Max Restaurant - CLOSED

Chez Max Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled in the Trading Post Complex on the corner of Caledon and Myburgh Street is the Restaurant Chez Max serving quality continental fare owned by Candice and Scott Murray since January 2006. Chez Max cuisine, explains Scott, is a mixture of classic and modern with a ‘bit of everything for everyone’. Some of the restaurant’s most popular dishes include The Ultimate Rosti, Veal Specialities, Pork Belly and Seafood. The Chez Max business philosophy is clear and unpretentious – much like the food. “In delivering simplicity,” says Scott. We understand that we must provide the best produce and service within traditional surroundings. A well considered wine list complements the menu and caters to all tastes designed with the flavours of the food in mind and fuelled by a desire to offer wines a cut above the average. Chez Max offers an excellent selection, and the friendly and well-trained staff, all of them who have been there a minimum of 3 years and more, which adds to a culture of community. (What we try to do here is make everyone that comes to Chez Max leave feeling contented and happy with what they have experience, explains Candice.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Easily and by far one of the best value, great tasting, well presented and professionally served restaurants in the western cape. I had the pleasure of taking some friends to Chez Max and we were positively astounded by the excellent yet friendly service. The fillet steak was cooked to perfection, retaining a nice firm texture while still be being succulent and moist, i eat a lot of steak, and this was one of the best i have had. All food is prepared fresh and i have never known a host so accommodating. The wines are all local (not restricted to the Helderberg) and you can tell a lot of effort and time went into selecting them. The atmosphere was fantastic with subtle music in the background as well as the quaint old world charm of the surroundings and the whole restaurant literally exudes the positive and friendly atmosphere given off by owners and employees alike! i would thoroughly recommend them and i can tell you i have eaten in nearly every restaurant in Somerset West and Stellenbosch, they are by far the best! Well done.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    10
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ginger Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a Place to try Great service,Fantastic Food! A Great time was Had by all. But you have to try the Ginger Pudding and fillet Steak! The Fish is awesome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marloth Park, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flawless Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have had the pleasure of dining at Chez Max on three occasions, and if I lived local, I would DEFFINITELY be a regular. Each time my experience was a culinary adventure. It is gratifying to dine on food created by a gourmand, and it is evident that Scott has a passion for food. The ambiance created by Candice is warm, relaxed and efficient. If you are a discerning diner, Chez Max is a must do, AND it won't blow your budget.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bushwackerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Birthday Party ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have had the pleasure of dining at Chez Max before and knowing the excellent food, selected this venue to celebrated my Birthday. The best Birthday Party EVER, (trust me, I've had a few...).Food was excellent and the ambiance great. Superb cooking done by Chef Scott, while his charming wife Candice saw to the effficient service,I entertained 45 discerning guests and everone praised the delicious menu.
The restaurant is highly recommended as a party venue, and excellent value for money.
Yaya

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yayamumsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

All round fantastic experience - friendly front of house from booking to first welcome, service and farewell. Menu varied and enticing, making decision difficult but whatever you choose you wont go wrong. Pork belly was amazing - best ever. Scott is an incredible chef. Our first visit but definately not our last. I think we will be regulars!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max Restaurant also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing