We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chelaya Country Lodge
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were part of a large group of friends all in Somerset area for a wedding! Everyone at Chelaya was accommodating! We all arrived at different times but there was always someone (Wickus) available to show everyone to their rooms and to ensure everyone is properly settled in! Brigit also spent a lot of time prior to my arrival to answer all my emails (in record response time). The rooms were lovely and we had a wonderful braai at the big house! Thank you all for making our stay so pleasant and always assisting with a smile! I would most defiantly recommend Chelaya Country Lodge to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

As part of our honeymoon visit in South Africa we spent time in Cape Town and found our 'home away from home' in Somerset at Çhelaya Country Lodge.

The staff was most welcoming and friendly. They took the extra step to answer questions and assist on all fronts. And went above and beyond what you might expect - assisting with suggestions and arrangements for us in the Cape Town area and other parts of the country.

The lodge has a variety of unique self-catering accommodations, lovely gardens and a secure setting. Very peaceful and a good variety of birds...We also rented car from the lodge which was clean and safe at a most reasonably price.

We enjoyed the time so much we added a night and wished we could have stayed longer!
Many thanks to all at Chelaya Lodge and we plan to return with the family!

G & B
Morondava, Madagascar

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComboIsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I spent six nights and five days at the Chelaya Lodge not far out of Cape Town.

It was originally a farm house sitting on a large acreage that had over the years been renovated, extended and added to, now boasting at least 4 chalets, each with the capacity to sleep four persons or more, with other well appointed single rooms in the main body of the house.

The property is located in a scenic part out in the country but within easy reach of Cape Town giving it that peace, tranquillity and charm by virtue of its large expanse of carefully manicured lawns, nurtured gardens and water features, all very relaxing to stroll through.

In one corner of the garden stands a genuine red British telephone kiosk with the Royal Coat of Arms over the door and an actual listing of telephone codes that were in use in Britain as recently as fifteen years ago. The kiosk was shipped over from Britain as a gift between family members.

We were accommodated in the self contained Garden Suite Chalet, the size of a cottage, which was comfortably furnished, well maintained and serviced on each day of our stay.

The principle room which was spacious had a double bed at one end, an open fire with a fully furnished sitting area in the middle as well as a separate bedroom, a separate kitchenette and a secluded private BBQ area.

The open wood fire kept us warm and cosy with the option of reverse cycle air conditioning at the flick of a switch.

The bathroom was airy with plenty of hot water on tap.

A hearty breakfast was included, the service excellent, the staff friendly and obliging.

We made use of the laundry facilities that were reasonable priced and clothing was washed, ironed and returned the same day.

It was hard to fault the place.

We enjoyed our stay and hope to return when next in Cape Town.


Bella & Chandi Vethanayagam,
Australia.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CHANDI V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Chelaya Lodge for 8 nights and the end of March/ first week of April 2014.

We occupied the Garden Suite, Garden Cottage and Courtyard Suite.

The lodge is ideally situated between Cape Town and the Winelands, and the beaches are not far away.

The two cottages are well-equipped with everything that is needed for self-catering. We had pleasant braais at the Garden Cottage!

The gardens are beautiful! The view from the front of the house is stunning! We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge!

Thanks to Wicus and his team for contributing to a memorable visit to CT!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank EstellaOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at Chelaya lodge in the garden cottage during February for 5 nights. The cottage is 2 story with lovely king size bedroom downstairs with roll top bath in the room. Upstairs in the mezzanine there are 2 single beds. It can be a bit warm up there, but fans are conveniently placed. This is a beautiful manor type estate with lovely gardens, a small swimming pool and plenty of bird life. It is really peaceful. The staff are excellent. Very helpful but unobtrusive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bonnyscot10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked the Garden Suite for four nights. Loved the cottage. Very comfortable and the grounds are beautiful. Staff are really helpful and being able to do a large load of laundry for R50 was a bargain. The owners were lovely and very friendly.
It is not in Somerset West Central and is a bit of a drive. We were fortunate as it was right next door to where we needed to be for a training seminar which was an unexpected bonus, but you do have to drive to get to shops etc . It is nicer being out of town, but some people might prefer to be in town. We would definitely book here again.
Only gripe - Having to pay the full amount 6 weeks prior to coming. Every place I have ever stayed locally generally only takes a 50% deposit. I also would have been a bit bleak if the main house was booked as then we would have been unable to use the pool & I would have had very upset children. Glad we had the place to ourselves

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbsEric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HatSW, Owner at Chelaya Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind words - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.
I thought it important to point out that the ONLY time guests of other cottages cannot use the pool is when the Homestead is booked on an EXCLUSIVE USE basis. This generally only occurs over peak periods such as Christmas and New Year and, when this happens, the Garden Suite is either let together with the Homestead or not at all.
The Homestead gets booked more than a year in advance for these periods and therefore the Garden Suite would not be available to other guests at all.
In brief - for the majority of the year, even if there are guests in the Homestead, all other guests have use of the swimming pool and gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you are looking for a calm place to experience the cape region and you do not need shops/ restaurants in walking distance then it is perfect. The area around is not good. The place gas a security system and should be save.

Only some km from N2 - but you can not see and almost not hear the autobahn (no problem).

Very good daily cleaning service.

Nice accomodation with big gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja_Sauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
4.9 mi away
Mooring House
Mooring House
#10 of 29 in Somerset West
19 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#6 of 81 in Somerset West
231 reviews
3.9 mi away
King's Highway Guest House
King's Highway Guest House
#2 of 29 in Somerset West
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
369 reviews
4.8 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 81 in Somerset West
144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelaya Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelaya Country Lodge

Address: Mondeor Road, Somerset West, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range: $45 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelaya Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelaya Country Lodge offers 4 hectares of park like grounds with the 4 bedroom Homestead, 2 three-bedroom cottages, 5 two-bedroom cottages and 4 corporate or bed-only rooms. Chelaya offers only self-catering and bed only options, has a full time duty manager, the units are serviced daily. The grounds are filled with old trees, squirrels, ducks and chickens with the resident dog and cat always friendly. There is a lot of open water so be warned with young children; ask for a cottage that is protected. Two swimming pools and huge sun decks offer ideal sun-downer spots and each cottage is equipped with its own braai, kitchens, verandahs and in most cases wifi. The Khaya is a common area offering laundry facilities, DSTV, DVD and wifi. Chelaya is situated within easy access of all Cape Town attractions, many world class golf courses and all the major wine routes. We can arrange car hire facilities and various guided tours if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chelaya Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelaya Country Lodge Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing