We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelaya Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Lodge(Somerset West)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Krystal Beach Hotel(Gordon's Bay)
$127
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
Gordon's Beach Lodge(Gordon's Bay)
$101
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
74
12
7
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
12
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden cottagemonkey townample roombeautiful placecape townduty managerfelt like homebraai areaself cateringhome away from homestay there againa great stayevery morningmichelleduckssettingaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 95 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a very relaxing weekend in the cute and cosy cottage, the friendliest people. We had plenty of wood to make a fire in the fire place. It really have everything you need. I would love to come and stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags1983VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very very impressed with Chelaya Country Lodge. The cottage was self contained and really beautiful with it's own fire place and garden setting. There was ample room for my family of 4. The only thing I can think of that would have improved our stay would have been better internet access. We were supposed to be able to get internet access in public areas, but not once were we able to connect to it, and had to opt to visit a coffee shop to check emails. Besides that, my kids loved playing in the beautifully manicured gardens. Well worth it. For us who wanted to be near Somerset West Central, it was the ideal location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandySohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HatSW, Owner at Chelaya Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am thrilled you enjoyed the Garden Cottage and wish you had mentioned the wifi problem! We checked it out and there was definitely a problem with the signal. We have now installed a booster so next time you will have no trouble connecting at all!
Hoping to welcome you here again soon!
Harriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A beautiful country home turned into a guest lodge. Though there was a screw up with the reservation service, the host Harriet was kind enough to upgrade us to the main house where they built a beautiful fire to unwind after our long drive. We had the room at the end of the house with a lovely bedroom. crisp linens and towels and an old English phone booth out on the lawn. The grounds are beautiful and we were in time for the sunset. In addition to the main house there are separate self catering cottages/suites.

Room Tip: If in the main house chose the last room at the very end called Emma overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HatSW, Owner at Chelaya Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We loved having you here and apologize again for the booking glitch. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will visit us in the Cape again soon!
Harriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

the best super-sized bath in the West (Somerset W that is), plus relaxing atmosphere and great hosts who give you the run of the place without reservation; there are stacks of things to do and see around here, that a week is hardly sufficient time. We will however be back!!

Room Tip: the master bedroom is the one to request
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The best value for money I have seen in a long time. I have to say that it has one of the most tranquil, perfect settings I have come across. Excellent for families, groups or individuals. I won't stay anywhere else in Somerset West. There is nothing we don't like at Chelaya Lodge. Well done Mike and Harriet. Wish we could stay longer and just enjoy the surroundings a bit more.

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews