We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and Service”

D'vine Restaurant @ Willowbrook Lodge
Ranked #34 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, UK
Level Contributor
302 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Lovely food, wine list and service. Modern cuisine.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Attention to detail much appreciated as well as wonderful food.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank dorothyrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

The food is very good. The service is excellent in a discrete and personal way.
The restaurant is cosy and charming in a very nice setting. Value for money and worth many visits.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnethe_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service slipping, portion size too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We chose the February tasting menu with wine pairings to be told it was no longer available. (sold out a few days earlier - so why was it in the menu or atleast why weren't we told about it.

Ordered another starter that was so unmemorable we can't work out what it was & crispy ravioli as starters. The crispy ravioli was excellent but diminutive - it would have been ok for a five course meal.

The fillet steak main would be called a ladies steak anywhere else. Probably a 150g, I asked fir medium rare but it was medium ( I didn't complain as it was still succulent) and I wasn't the only dinner annoyed about this. My wife had a reasonable fishcake main.

When it came to the bill I paid r600 for a r500 bill. After about ten minutes I went to enquire about my change and was told by the waitress that I should have asked for my change! Usually you would get asked if you wanted change or the assumption would be that all your change would be returned to the table for you.

So at the same time I mentioned that the steak and ravioli starter courses were too small. I was plainly ignored.

This place needs to resolve it's service issues, if you want the old service that it used to have go to Taste in Stellenbosch and don't bother with here.

It also feels like you're a guest I'm someones house which isn't a good thing. But the garden is a gem and it was nice to walk under the stars between courses

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset west
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“vastly under rated. Excellent food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

Often overlooked in favour of the more flashy local wine estate restaurants D'vine serves really good food ( I have been there with friends or business 3 times this past month). Their apple strudel dessert is far and away the best I have ever tasted ( and that is a lot!).
Highly recommended restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'vine Restaurant @ Willowbrook Lodge also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to D'vine Restaurant @ Willowbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing