We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent day all round”

Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 8 Tours in Somerset West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: exclusive private wine tours of the Cape of South Africa
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Richard was a wonderful and knowledgeable host and we all thoroughly enjoyed the day as well as learning a lot about Cape Town and its wines.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Huge thanks Paul - much look forward to seeing you again next month and meeting your wife too. Very best, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was arranging a trip for members of the Algarve Wine Society - experienced wine tasters from Portugal. Richard did an excellent job arranging the visits to the various wineries, as well as organizing accommodation, meals etc. We were very specific in our brief and all our requirements were met in full, with us opting for nearly all of his suggestions.

In addition most members booked pre and/or post trip visits through Richard, and again there were no complaints! It was a pleasure doing business with an expert in his chosen fields.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank michaelsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hi Michael, huge thanks for your kind words. I hope you and Catherine are both well, ad wish you a very happy Christmas and new year.
very best,
richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Richard Hilton is not only a travel guide but a wine producer himself. He did not only showed me some beautiful wine-estates, enabled me to taste some wonderful wines and educated me on the wine making process, he also complemented this with the history of the Cape area. I had a memorable day in the Wineland and I would highly recommend Richard Hilton to anyone.

Thank JossefP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hi Jossef,
It was a real pleasure meeting you and showing you around the Cape winelands. So pleased you found it fun and informative. I too learnt a lot from you!
wishing you a very healthy and happy 2014,
Best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Richard took my family, including two fairly young children, on a superb wine tour last week where we experienced some of the best wineries in the area around Stellenbosch. We went to places which we would not have found ourselves without many hours of research and enjoyed learning about the history of wine-making in the Cape. Richard was a charming host with deep knowledge of his craft, many contacts in the industry, as well as the inside scoop on the places which we visited, many of which were in the most beautiful settings. We will definitely book a day with him again when we are next in Cape Town and we now definitely know what to order with dinner when in South Africa!

Thank FionaG712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatestCapeTravel, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments which are so important to me.. I relish sharing my experiences of the Cape wine lands with wine lovers and connoisseurs alike, and am so very happy you enjoyed the day out. Until we meet again! Very best, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Richard took us on a tour that not only allowed us to learn about and enjoy the fabulous countryside, estates and wines of the Western Cape, but that truly took us behind the scenes at some of the most prestigious labels in the area. Being a wine maker himself, he explains everything and anything you might think of asking and he does it with historic insight and a passion that ensures there is never a dull moment in a very full day. Absolutely brilliant and we will for sure be back!

Thank ECT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatestCapeTravel, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

It was lovely to meet you and be able to share my experiences of the Cape winelands with you - hope to see you back in SA one day, and please contact me before hand so that I can assist you with soem special arrangements.

Best wishes
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing