We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Meal in a Majestic Setting”

The Restaurant at Waterkloof
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $64
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining in the heart of the winlelands with spectacular views over False bay . Lunch Monday to sunday 12 to 2 pm . Dinner monday to saturday 7 pm to 9 pm
jacksonville, florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal in a Majestic Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The dining setting is majestic with soaring ceilings and lovely views of Somerset West. The service and food was excellent. We had been to the top restaurants Test Kitchen, Rust en Vrede and Indochine and this restaurant with its lovely setting is in the same league. Food was beautifully presented and tasty. If you are in the Somerset West area, you must book a table at this restaurant. We will return to this gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheadle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    123
    68
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On a Diet!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Beautiful location, friendly staff, quality food. Be sure to eat prior to visiting this restaurant though.

The portion sizes are so small that a cat would leave hungry.

Shall not be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just not good enough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We celebrated my birthday there and although it has a beautiful setting and the place it self is fantastic, we won't go back there again. Definately not a place to take your adult boys there when the are starving. Portions are extremely small and my fillet was ice cold as i asked for medium rare and all the others were medium. Must have sit on the counter while doing the others. Cheesecake was tasteless and just a spoonful. No effort being done because it was a birthday and the bill was something to cry about! Had to stop and buy a take away for my boys! There a just too many excellent restaurants in the area for us foodies to go back there again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had dinner with a large group which I think was not ideal to fully experience the special atmosphere the restaurant offers. Starter and dessert were very, very good, the main was rather common. A big piece of meat is not immediately my idea of fine dining. The staff, though very friendly is not very trained in serving large groups. I would love to go back, with just my wife , to fully appreciate this top restaurant in a fabulous setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Winelands gastronomy at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our best Sunday lunch this year.
It was our second time at Waterkloof, last time was about 3/4 years ago and we were slightly underwhelmed at the time!
Well, our palates are probably better trained now and we enjoyed the food tremendously. We tasted 9 dishes all together, only one was a little weird for us, but not of any fault in the ingredients or construction, just a question of taste. The other 8 were absolutely delicious, well balanced in textures, flavors and a feast to the eye! Yes, yes, even the caramelized white chocolate mousse!!!
We will most definitely recommend to all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdequekervandermerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Waterkloof also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Restaurant at Waterkloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing