We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable!”

The Restaurant at Waterkloof
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $65
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining in the heart of the winlelands with spectacular views over False bay . Lunch Monday to sunday 12 to 2 pm . Dinner monday to saturday 7 pm to 9 pm
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A recently discovered venue for us although we live in the vicinity - and what a find it is! I recommended the restaurant as the venue for a birthday celebration and would have been hard pressed, in retrospect, to have found a better venue for the occasion! All five guests enthused about the three course meal (the camembert starter totally sublime ~ not to be missed) as well as the Waterkloof wines. Fabulous food, wine, venue and out of this world views...
Highly recommended ~ we will all be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saski8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    123
    68
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have dined at Waterkloof on at least five occasions and all of them have been fantastic. The food is beautiful and well executed with amazing technique. The wine is delicious and well paired with the food and dramatically beautiful view. Highly recommend a meal here

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxEnjoyDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stunning views, cracking wines, and a menu degustation that back in the UK would only be found at a top 3 star Michelin restaurant, really well done to all at Waterkloof. Lovely evening with friends who live nearby who had not been before but were blown away by the food and the surroundings, they'll be back. We will too, if we get back to SA sometime!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been coming to eat at Waterkloof on and off since 2010. The food has always been excellent. At our last visit we tried the tasting menu and was blown away with every course and the complimenting wine. Thank you to Greg and his team for another unforgettable experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eat_travel_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to treat yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The place is fantastic. Very unusual as you dine in an awesome room adjacent to the massive wine vats. The taster menu with wine is exquisite.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Waterkloof also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Restaurant at Waterkloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing