We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

The Restaurant at Waterkloof
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $64
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining in the heart of the winlelands with spectacular views over False bay . Lunch Monday to sunday 12 to 2 pm . Dinner monday to saturday 7 pm to 9 pm
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stunning views, cracking wines, and a menu degustation that back in the UK would only be found at a top 3 star Michelin restaurant, really well done to all at Waterkloof. Lovely evening with friends who live nearby who had not been before but were blown away by the food and the surroundings, they'll be back. We will too, if we get back to SA sometime!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    123
    68
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been coming to eat at Waterkloof on and off since 2010. The food has always been excellent. At our last visit we tried the tasting menu and was blown away with every course and the complimenting wine. Thank you to Greg and his team for another unforgettable experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eat_travel_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to treat yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The place is fantastic. Very unusual as you dine in an awesome room adjacent to the massive wine vats. The taster menu with wine is exquisite.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
206 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality, new cuisine in a stunning environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We were invited there by our friends who run an estate in the region. Everytime they come to south africa they stop and have dinner or lunch there. We understand why. The french chef has made the menu exquisite. Some might be frightened by the quantities on the plate, indeed, small but after a 3 course, there is not much more needed. You çan tell the ingredients are of top quality, i had an amazing trout sushi type appetizer followed by the springbok sirloin which was outstanding. The wines were also at the level, it was perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a wonderful meal in this beautiful location accompanied by wine produced on the premises. I would highly recommend this restaurant and it is top of my "must revisit" list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Waterkloof also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Restaurant at Waterkloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing