We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blaauwheim Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$144
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guesthouse Beautiful View CC(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mooring House(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$62
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$83
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelaya Country Lodge(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$56
$49
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Southern Cross Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bay View Somerset West(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$69
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Helderberg(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
416
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjo annefruit platterguest housefive starchardonnay suitecape townattention to detailsnoekat homesouth african hospitalitybreakfast tablehost and hostessstar accommodationwelcoming hostsa fantastic place to stayour honeymoonevery respect
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 429 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I flew in from Colorado and took a trip up the Garden Route during the second week of January. There is a reason why this impeccably run and decorated Bed and Breakfast is continually rated as a five star destination – everything was perfect but more than that, the hospitality by Johan and Jo-Anne was absolutely genuine. They accommodated our peculiarities and the incredible breakfasts we had on theiri veranda and they were quick to give us advice on where to go, how to drive there, what to do and what not to do. Dr. Lewis

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRoryLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Dr Rory

It was fun, it was interesting and it was awesome having you at Blaauwheim. We really appreciate your valuable time used for this review and the photo. What you are doing in your field, boggles the mind and therefore taking care of your "peculiarities" is the least we can do. Taking care of people is what we do best! Keep up the good work.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have had such lovely days at Blauuwheim Guest house...we are looking forward to our next trip to South Africa and Somerset West and of course to our visit at Blaauwheim to meet Johan and Jo-Anne. We never have had such a excellent breakfast --and the famous fruit platter from Johan - we are missing it really...and all the informations we got... super
The location is very nice, the garden, the suites are luxury like in a 5 Star Hotel...I think better...
and then we got such a friendly welcome and services and also a lot of helpfull and really good tips ....thanks for your great hospitalityl

Room Tip: If you will stay here a few days the luxury suites Pinotage or Chardonnay are really good we visited both...view in the garden is very nice and from chardonnay you can see teh top of Hottentots Mountains...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Ulma

"like coming home"... I like that! Thank you for being such wonderful guests and for taking time to write this lovely review. The additional stone among those surrounding the fountain is a new one to us but certainly a tangible reminder of your stay. Believe me: there is space for many more stones. As for the flop proof bread recipe... Come home soon!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Once again, Blaauheim delivered more than than promised: from the best beds in Africa to a breakfast platters almost too beautiful to eat! From crispy white bedding to a lovely lush garden with a view on Helderberg.

Thank you, Johan and Jo-anne, we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynacotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Maryna

Thanks for the review! Funny that you should say "Best beds in Africa" - maybe that is what put us at #09/25 in South Africa but also #19/25 in AFRICA this time around! Tired guests deserve that and hungry travellers need food as delicious as it is beautiful.It is always a pleasure to have you and your camera around.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thank you Mishkah at the Tourist Info office who said we wouldn't be disappointed. That was an understatement! Being anxious to settle in Capetown for the last week of our vacation, we decided to splurge on a five star accomodation and were so pleased that we stayed three nights! Johan and Jo-Anne could not have been more welcoming and professional and the suites are equally beautiful and comfortable. This guesthouse is truly perfect as is their food and gardens! It was one highlight of our three and a half week vacation in South Africa that we can't stop talking about.

Room Tip: The one room suite is very! beautiful and adequate for stays less than a week
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jeepster

Loved the review! We are also glad that you discovered Blaauwheim! We enjoyed the talks and the many laughs! "Are you serious?" now has more meaning to us than before and brings a grin and a memory every time either of us uses the expression. Come back soon!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am a regular traveller and have been in a couple of excellent Bed and Breakfasts, Blaauwheim is one of the best the suite is excellent and it really felt like I was at home. Johan & Jo-Anne were extremely friendly and the breakfast is really something.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Christian

We are delighted that you say you felt at home because that is very important to us. So is a hearty breakfast which sets the tone for the day. Thank you for saying it all so succinctly in your review.
You are welcome any time!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews