We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six star stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Travelling trough SA, from Capetown to Springbok, we stayed in beautiful guest houses.
Almost at the end of our holidays, somebody booked a stay at Blaauwheim Guest House for us.
We didn't know what to expect....
What can we say, this retreat deserves a six star rating!
Johan and Jo Anne are such excellent hosts and our suit (Chardonnay suite) was one to remember. Large, comfortable, very good beds with beautiful linen, the spacious bathroom with floorheating.
Breakfast served outside on the patio with mouthwatering fruitplatters, cooked choices, fresh breadrolls.
Thanks for having us, and ....we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Volie

I just love it when people call Blaauwheim a "retreat". This word also embeds the word "treat" and this is what your review is and what you guys were: a real treat. Thanks for the review and the memories of good laughs and summer days. Now you know what to expect, so come back soon!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 406 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

After a long drive from Johannesburg to Somerset West we arrived at Blaauwheim Guest House just as the sun was setting and we were made to feel very welcome by our warm & friendly hosts Johan & Jo Anne. WoW, they had booked us into their Chardonnay Suite, in this suite you will find everything needed while away from home. You lack for nothing. The suite is very upmarket yet truly comfortable. Nothing is spared and you will find everything during your stay is done to true perfection. We recieved the most colourful & delicious breakfast served on the patio, where after breakfast you can relax on a huge couch, with your coffee overlooking beautiful manicured gardens. This was the most relaxed & beautiful guest house we have ever stayed in and look forward to our next stay.
Thank you Johan and Jo Anne for the most wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyOwgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Tracy

Thank you for a very unpretentious review. When on holiday, we all need to feel pampered and well taken care of with every need (as well as most wants) taken care of. That's what we strive to do at Blaauwheim every day. Our guests' comfort and needs are our priority and we address those with our very best personalised one on one service. Glad you liked it!

See you sooner than later.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

After a long drive down from Jozi to the cape, Blaauwheim Guest House was indeed a much welcome oasis! When booking on line you never know if the pictures hide a thousand lies.. in this case, the pictures do the establishment no justice. John and Jo-Anne have indeed created something special. From the tasty colourful breakfast to the most luxurious rooms to the tranquil setting, this is easily one of the best guest houses I have ever had the privilege of staying in, and it did not cost an arm and a leg.. it should have 6 stars!!!

Room Tip: A suite is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Adam

We are glad that you experienced Blaauwheim as an oasis - we even have a couple of palm trees among the yellow woods and cycads in the garden - thanks for reflecting it in your positive review.

I am glad that your online experience of Blaauwheim was a good one. We have heard many similar sad stories of "creative photography" but our mission is to turn every guest into a returning guest. Not costing "an arm and a leg" is also part of that strategy. So when are you coming back?

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Blaauwheim is a five star guest house in every respect, with meticulous attention given to every detail of a guest's comfort. Jo-Anne and Johan are excellent hosts, determined to make your stay memorable.

The property has three guest rooms - two genuine suites and a large bedroom. I say "genuine" to distinguish these self contained, comfortable, small apartments from large rooms with some seating, often described elsewhere as "suites". Rooms are nicely furnished with quality fittings, comfortable large beds, good linen and excellent bathrooms. Everything you might want or need has been provided.

Blaauwheim breakfasts are leisurely affairs, with Johan's signature fruit "creation" each day to start, followed by your cooked choice, together with really good rolls and croissants.

The B+B has a small pool, with comfortable loungers and a sizeable garden to explore - and if you are lucky spot a chameleon or two.

We have stayed here two years running on our SA trips; no doubt we will be back next year! Blauuwheim fully deserves it's Trip Advisor position.

Room Tip: We prefer Chardonnay, on the first floor, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Grahame

We feel honoured to be given such an outstanding review by such a prolific reviewer as yourself. Thanks so much, we really appreciate every review.

We were so glad that you had a holiday without the worries this time around. Thank you too for being a good ambassador for South Africa and opening up a new world to your friends.

You have written too many reviews to miss anything, yet I'm glad to see that you call our suites genuine suites compared to rooms called "suites". You pick up on all the subtleties of the English language too...

Love to see you back!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a frequent guest of Blaauwheim Guest House, I am pleased to say that, every time I visit, Johan and Jo-Anne makes me feel special and welcome. The tranquil setting makes for an ideal place to rest body and soul. Lovely room and bathroom, beautiful garden and all the amenities you can ask for. Nothing too big or too small for the hosts to attend to. If you need a break, just a bed or some tlc - visit Blaauwheim, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Jilly

Thanks for mentioning the beds in your review, because a bed is what accommodation should be about. Taking guests to a restaurant means that everyone can enjoy a special celebration with our famous wine without the danger that comes with drinking and driving - we do it with pleasure! We are glad the whole family enjoyed it at Blaauwheim!

As for our "Travellers' Choice" Award: we display it with pride and strive to earn another one for you to see when you return to Blaauwheim.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Everything is excellent about Blaauwheim from the fabulous beds to the perfect breakfasts. We had two suites and they were fitted with everything you could possibly want. Johan and Jo Anne cannot do enough for you and even took us to a restaurant one evening when we could not get a taxi. A wonderful place to stay. They recently won the Travellers' Choice award for 2013 and thoroughly deserve it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Jilly

Thanks so much for your review.

It was so much fun having you and your group here. The friendly banter around the breakfast table never ended! We did everything with great pleasure and will do it again when you come back.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night holiday in South Africa of which we spent two nights at Blaauwheim Guest House. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and our hosts, Johan and Jo-Anne, could not do enough to ensure we had a good time. They happily made reservations for us at restaurants, arranged transport to a local winery, and Johan himself picked us up after an evening at a restaurant.
The suites are immaculate and extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was out of this world. The plates of fruit that were set out for us were a delight to look at let alone eat.
I would highly recommend this five star guest house without hesitation.
Thank you Johan and Jo-Anne for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Cranbourne

We are glad that you had a good time - we did too with the lively banter, laughing and teasing especially around the breakfast table. Thanks for expressing it in your review! Thanks also for returning to South Africa over and over. Now that you've found Blaauwheim, we know we'll see you again, and soon, that is.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
23.9 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
174 reviews
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
472 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
4 Heaven Guesthouse
4 Heaven Guesthouse
#2 of 81 in Somerset West
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 81 in Somerset West
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: $171 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing