We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #18 of 80 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very friendly”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had an excellent stay at Woodlands Guesthouse with very warm and friendly hosts. I arrived late but was made to feel welcome and comfortable. This lovely house and garden has a very relaxing ambience and, being in Somerset West, I think it would be a good idea to have wine on offer for guests. I would happily recommend this guest house to anyone passing through Somerset West.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
31
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely guest house. Great, friendly service. Well located. We will definitely stay there again. The room was extremely comfortable and very private. Will recommend this guest house to family and friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After an extremely stressful time in our lives we arrived at the most beautiful place where one could switch off an unwind completely. You do not feel like going out for sight seeing once you have entered the huge lounge with the lovely antique furniture, soft classical music and the peaceful surroundings when you walk out onto the verandah. The hosts are immediately available when you require a tasty meal but they are invisible when you need space. We have immediately booked for a 2nd visit and will recommend Woodlands to all our friends.Ron Elize Elsa & Japie

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed with 4 People one night at Woodlands Guest House. Even though a private pary was taking place when we arrived, we were serviced very friendly and quick. Rooms were nice and comfortable, Breakfast was ok.
Staff was giving Support on dinner facilities nearby.
We enjoyed our short stay !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GRU_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma ,Lesotho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at Woodlands while attending the Getaway Show as an exhibitor . It is a comfortable place with a very comfy bed & good facilities . The hosts are very nice & welcoming. The breakfast is very good .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Rooms all on one level with good facilities. You are free to use a lovely lounge area to relax and even prepare and / or eat meals. Nice little swimming pool, good security. Owners are friendly and helpful directing you to the best places that suit your tastes. Somerset West and its surronds are excellent to get out of Cape Town and to start to explore the Winelands

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Woodlands for one night to attend a function in Somerset West and didn't want to drive back to Cape Town in the middle of the night.

Our hosts were friendly. The rooms were clean and neat although soap was lacking in the bathroom. The guesthouse is well situated away from the Main Road.

We found the gusethouse good value for money and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 80 in Somerset West
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 80 in Somerset West
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 80 in Somerset West
203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 80 in Somerset West
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somer Place B&B
Somer Place B&B
#33 of 80 in Somerset West
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: 16 Woodlands Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guest House (B&B), with its Cape Dutch charm is a warm and welcoming Guest House for any traveller. Whether you are looking for the perfect location for that long break, or just needing an over night stop with a difference, Woodlands Guest House (B&B) is the right choice. With its welcoming atmosphere, comfortable rooms and beautiful setting, Woodlands Guest House (B&B) will become your regular destination once you have experienced the Woodlands Guest House (B&B) hospitality. - Looking forward to seeing you! - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing