We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic yet relaxed atmosphere”

Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #5 of 121 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $150
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Walking into Henri's, you will be greeted by the owner and the staff who will treat you like guests in their own home.Henri's is conveniently situated on Somerset West's Main Road in a heritage building that has been renovated into a spacious contemporary restaurant. Well known for their aged grass-fed beef as well as the freshest local seafood. The menu can be described as comfort food with a modern global influence. You can also enjoy a drink on our patio or at the stylish bar. Once you've discovered Henri's you'll be back (and back again!)
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic yet relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We visited Henri's for my birthday, it was the first visit for myself and my boyfriend.

The hospitality is great, waiters and waitresses are all on the ball.

We each had the steak, I had mine with mashed potatoes and my boyfriend had the roasted veg. Highly recommend you give it a try, need to find out that recipe for mashed potatoes, it was delicious.

For the average household this is the perfect restaurant for a night out to spoil your partner, slightly pricey but well worth it. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    187
    39
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a most pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

our first time since the new owners took over.
We couldn't have been more pleased with the overall quality of the food and most definitely the service. While we had a small problem as one of the steaks was over done ( mine) this was corrected in a flash. The home made Sauce Bearnaise was a mouth watering pleaser.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Horst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GREAT”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very convenient , safe parking, lovely "old house" feel making you feel at home. Food excellent. Chinese Oxtail, Lamb Chops and Sirloin Steak amazing. Pricing excellent, staff very friendly and helpful . Delicious coffee taken in the garden to end a great meal

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good quality - always”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are quite new in SW and try to "test" for ourselves as much restaurants as possible.
Henri`s is one amoung the wide choice we still like to go again and again although our `what next`-list is still very long.
Wine ordered by the glass takes sometimes unexpected long until it arrives the table. Looks like this is an unusual wish in SA, wine by the bottle seams to be quicker in service ;-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
391 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Two hits in a row”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A wonderful place, so good that we returned for dinner the day after our first one. Excellent food with top-notch ingredients. Especially the lamb (shank or rack, equally good) was a hit. Nice wine list. Very good service. A great team at work !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre V, Owner at Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. At Henri's we strive to keep our customers happy by giving them good service, good food. and value for money. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing