We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant during our stay in South Africa”

Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $150
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Walking into Henri's, you will be greeted by the owner and the staff who will treat you like guests in their own home.Henri's is conveniently situated on Somerset West's Main Road in a heritage building that has been renovated into a spacious contemporary restaurant. Well known for their aged grass-fed beef as well as the freshest local seafood. The menu can be described as comfort food with a modern global influence. You can also enjoy a drink on our patio or at the stylish bar. Once you've discovered Henri's you'll be back (and back again!)
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best restaurant during our stay in South Africa”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was the best meal we had while in South Africa. We sat outside on the porch and it was a beautiful patio area. The food, drink and service were all totally outstanding. I had one of the best steaks of my life. The wine was absolutely perfect, from the local Stellenbosch wineries. The service was perfect; attentive without being overly aggressive. I was with two colleagues and they both raved as well. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    189
    39
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening all round”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Celebrated anniversary evening with friends. Henri's provided specific champagne ordered at time of making reservation. The food was very tasty and well presented and the staff attentive. Most enjoyable evening

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The food was amazing! The only thing I did not like was the robotic staff with very little personality. Was very difficult to engage conversation with them, the conversation was like speaking to a robot. Totally disinterested in what you had to say. ( more so with the manager)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Waterstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA and South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Always excellent!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were pleased to find that Henri's hasn't changed much, under the new ownership as of 2014. The menu remains the same, with an additional page of new things to try. The atmosphere is nice, and bustling without being too loud. The service is, as usual, absolutely excellent, from the welcome to the final bill. And the food is as good as ever. Excellent steaks and other meat dishes, delicious salad (love the avocado and pine nuts salad to start), sides and other veg. We will keep going back regularly. We were also pleased that there is no corkage if you bring your own wine (which we often like to do)....this may change, but we appreciated this and it made us enjoy the night all the more!! We will be back soon. Thanks, Henri's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderfull dining experience, extensive menu. No corkage!!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I was referred to Henri's by Glen from the Helderberg Forest Lodge. The Restaurant is a short drive from the Lodge.

What a pleasant surprise, we were welcomed, seated, advised on the specials and menu. We had our own wine, no issue to pay corkage, but it must be noted that Henri's doesn't charge any corkage, good start for the evening.
The menu is very extensive and thus not so easy to decide, so we had to go for a starter, main course and desert and everything was excellent.

The waitress and barman also provided excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre V, Owner at Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for all the positive reviews. We are proud to see that our efforts are paying dividends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing