We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stroke of luck to have stayed here with warmhearted, and most helpful Miriam and Garry.”
Review of Mooring House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mooring House
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Staying at the Mooring House was more than the cherry on the top and made our whole visit to Somerset West a very special one. A dreamy garden and Garry, Miriam and family we really hope to see again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkoudelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Mooring House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Well located close to Somerset West, Cape Town, airport and The Strand. Amazing views of the Helderburg and great opportunity for a brisk evening walk up the slopes of the mountain to be rewarded with wonderful views over False Bay and surrounding mountains. Everything you need in the apartments so great for Self Catering. Very welcoming, helpful and knowledgable hosts.
Watch out for the spiders (if you leave the garden windows open). A bit scary, but easily removed with a broom! Don't let this put you off (character forming!).
If you need to work - wireless internet connectivity (good signal) is provided free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandBTrotter, Owner at Mooring House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2010

Rain spiders (or proper term being the African Huntsman Spider) appears extremely scary to those who do not like spiders, but they are actually not aggressive and will not bite unless they feel threatened or provoked but are certainly not deadly to humans. They get their name from fear of the rain and seek shelter a day or two before a rain shower – unfortunately on occasions, in one or other guest room where the windows have been left open and then stay in a corner on the ceiling.

I know they are not the most pleasant of slights especially when you climb into bed at night and look up the ceiling and there staring back at you is this rather large spider – enough to put anyone off their sleep, but please do not kill them as they are considered beneficial because they feed on insects. So if summons by a guests because of this looming threat inside there room I simply take a broom, nudge them to the floor where they will curl up into a little ball and then gently sweep them outside – away from harms way.

Prevention. Unfortunately you will find them in most places where you stay but simply : shut your windows prior to a rain storm and you will have an unthreatened and peaceful nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stunning tranquil gardens, accomodation clean, bright, spaceous and very comfortable!
Wonderful for the whole family, close to shops, very practically situated!
Brilliant atmosphere, and very private!
Thanks, we enjoyed our stay, we wish it was longer and for a holiday to really appreciate, maybe next time!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rileyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Gary and miriam are knowledgeable freindly hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. We can't recommend them highly enough. Rooms were comfortable, position excellent, and in it's way as good as the Lord Charles down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letty299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
6932
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frez69zo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.1 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 82 in Somerset West
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
a'Vue Guesthouse
a'Vue Guesthouse
#61 of 82 in Somerset West
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Somer Place B&B
Somer Place B&B
#33 of 82 in Somerset West
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 82 in Somerset West
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring House

Address: 4 Mayfair Avenue | Helena Heights, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range: $54 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooring House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal location for holiday accommodation - Somerset West is only 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Mooring House offers comfortable lodgings in a tranquil garden setting. Ideal for groups or the individual traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mooring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooring House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing