We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topsy Turvy Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A perfect retreat and in a good location, accomodation excellent, breakfast on the terrace wonderful with stunning views, bedrooms very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
Erik and Ritje were perfect hosts, couldnt have wished for a better place to stay. thankyou for making our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first stop on our tour of the Winelands.
Excellent B&B.
Very warm welcome bij Erik en Ritje, who make sure that you feel right at home and have the perfect suggestions for restaurants and wineries to visit.
Extremely helpful for making bookings or whatever you might need or like.
The perfect hosts, really.

We simply had the best room: xtra large, very clean and an amazing view.

This B&B is very well situated in the sense that you are in a short driving distance from a lot of excellent restaurants, wineries, Stellenbosch,.... But be aware that you are on the top of the mountain, so you'll need your car for everything! Nothing is in walking distance.
This didn't bother us at all, though.

We would certainly stay here again when visiting Somerset (or anything nearby).
Delicious breakfast too.
I would most definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredvanbael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse last year and were very happy to return. We stayed at Topsy Turvy during the first week of our vacation and returned 3 weeks later for our last week. Topsy Turvy is really at the high end of 4 star accommodation in South Africa. It has a fantastic location with a stunning view of False Bay. The building is Tuscan style and in impeccable condition. The swimming pool is large and super clean. Plenty of good quality towels are provided in the large and well furnished pool area. The rooms are large and very clean, very well furnished and the bed is a super king size. The bathroom offers a walk-in shower, a large tub, two washing basins and all amenities that you only get in top guesthouses. Last but not least the hosts are very welcoming and hospitable. They also have a special way to introduce guests from different countries to each other so that the overall ambience is very pleasant. The introductions happen at a casual aperitif occasion, wine generously offered, or at breakfast. And what a breakfast! Plenty of fresh fruit, freshly pressed orange juice, muesli, a large variety of excellent quality bread and Danish, cold cuts, cheese, homemade marmalades and not to forget, eggs prepared in a variety of ways and always super tasty. Cannot wait to go back. We have already booked for next year so that nobody can take our place :-). So, hurry, and book before it is too late!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flamingotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Top Bed & Breakfast at a wonderful location!!!
Ritje and Eric are perfect hosts with a spirit of how to provide an unique experience to their guests.
We had a wonderful time and like to share that perfect experience with everyone planning to stay in the Cape Town area.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina7813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night. Warm welcome, beautiful room, stunning views from the deck and pool over False Bay, immaculate gardens and delicious breakfast. Perfect!

Will definitely come to stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

eric and ritje have a top guest house with a wonderful view and are very helpfull. the location is perfect, peaceful,not too far of cape town and stellenbosch. very good breakfast and friendly people.
nice garden and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thierry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a wonderful place! We were welcomed heartily by Eric and Ritje in their B&B, which stands for Beautiful room and delicious Breakfast each morning. The location is perfect, situated in a very peaceful area, perfect to get away and relax, and ideal for trips to the nearby winelands. No need for a travel guide, our hosts recommended the loveliest places in the neighborhood for lunch and dinner. Also not unimportant, good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.9 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 81 in Somerset West
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
a'Vue Guesthouse
a'Vue Guesthouse
#59 of 81 in Somerset West
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Helderberg
Villa Helderberg
#8 of 81 in Somerset West
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsy Turvy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsy Turvy Guesthouse

Address: 68 Silverboom Kloof Street | Spanish Farm, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: $96 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse on the slopes of the Helderberg. Owner operated with attention to detail. Contemporary, stylish bedrooms, with airco, flat screen TV, safe, minibar, coffee/tea tray etc. Finest restaurants nearby. 5 top golf courses in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topsy Turvy Guesthouse Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing