We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Workshop - 22 people - great venue!”
Review of SW1 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SW1 Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We presented a workshop at the lovely SW1 and was very impressed with the lovely setting providing privacy to all the rooms. The friendly staff and management made us feel at home and assisted with all our requests. The meals were more than adequate and stocked coffee station was welcome over the cold weekend.

Room Tip: Loved quite setting of Thula Thula room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celdri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Celdri

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor after your conference weekend at SW1.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay and the service the staff provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was ECHO'S 5th year @ SW1 and it was brillant. The management and staff were friendly, efficant and extremly helpful. The food was excellant.We were all warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Tobie was magnificant and checked regularily that everything was runnig to our satisfaction. we will definately return and highly recommend SW1 for conferances or even as a holiday base in the Wine Lands.
Des McLeod
ECHO

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Des

It was our absolute pleasure to have the Echo Group return to SW1 5 years in a row! I am extremely delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time and a productive workshop.

Tobie is totally service oriented and I am very pleased that his attention to detail and work ethic has been noted by you and the workshop participants.

Your delegates were charming and we really appreciate all the individual messages of thanks they have sent us.

We look forward to having you return again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent one night there and we very excited. It is a beautiful lodge. Our room was very nice, nothing spectacular. Spa was very average though. I was not at all impressed with the continental breakfast they had on offer, especially for a five start lodge. There was hardly anything and the stuff they had was very average. I just don't think it's worth what the amount of money that you spend, and I definitely do not think it is a 5 star. I will not be returning to SW1. The restaurant JennaVIVA which is connected to the lodge is really amazing though, we had a good time there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear JD

I am very concerned to hear that we failed to deliver on our promise of a great guest experience.

In order for me to properly look into this matter please could you furnish me with details of your stay - dates, room etc and let me have any specifics we can investigate and attend to.

I also own JennaVIVA and the experience you had there is indicative of the experience you should have had at SW1.

I would like to put right wahtever went wrong and would appreciate your help with doing so.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were looking for a cosy (fireplace) ambiance with stylish decor for a birthday party. That was exactly what we got, but then came the friendly, well organised and excellent service from staff and managers and it just went over the top for us!! They did everything for us, we just had to arrive and party.

Tobie, Ren and Terri thank you so much for making this an memorable event. It was really special thanks to all of you.

To Bea at the Spa, thank you so much for all the special attention you gave my mom. She mentioned that the standards there is very high and that the treatment was magnificent.

I can only say: Wow, Wow and wow!!

Room Tip: I cannot add a tip to choose a room, because the room I saw, I thought was the honeymoon suite, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maretha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear M

WOW to you too!!! What a wonderful compliment to receive! Thank you for taking the time to post it.

We are all thrilled that you and your friends had such a good time and that we 'hit the mark' with everything we did. You were an absolute pleasure to deal with and the staff say it was there pleasure to assist you in any way they could.

Thank you also for the great remarks about our decor. It makes all the effort worthwhile.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

An aunt and I stayed at SW1 lodge from 26 June till 6 July 2012. All I can say is that it was a wonderful experience. We arrived exhausted after 2 days of driving in a cold rainy late afternoon. We were received by all the friendly management and staff. SW1 have so much heart, warmth and style. Great service and breakfast!!! The location was great we did a lot of sightseeing in and around Somerset West. I will definitely stay at SW1 if I visit South Africa again. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My partner and I spent the night at SW1 lodge, under Toby's care out of the blue. It was a groupon special - and boy were we pleased. A great room, with a sumptious bath, an exquisite massage and then down the road for a fabulous dinner. The restaurant is also owned by the same people. Not surprising. The attention to detail was amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mozzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Mozzy

A big thank you to you for the review posted recently. I am so pleased that you had a good experience at SW1 AND JennaVIVA
We hope you will return to us soon.

Warm regards

Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What more can you want from a Lodge? It has everything!!

I have travelled many times in my career and have never come across a place with so much heart, warmth and style.

Tobie, who I contacted when I was looking for a temporary home was quick, professional and negotiable to my plea. I met all the staff and was welcomed so well, it will be hard to leave after three awesome days here.

You can feel God's peace is here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Laura

I am thrilled with the opinion you have of SW1 and it's staff! Ren, Tobie and the SW1 team will be thrilled to read your review. This is what makes their efforts worthwhile.

Thank you for choosing to stay at SW1 and for taking the time to post your comments. I do hope we will see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
2.9 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
394 reviews
3.2 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW1 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW1 Lodge

Address: 32 Elsenham, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range: $108 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SW1 Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in unique luxury in Somerset West. SW1 Lodge offers undiluted Euro-African style and comfort and tasteful opulence combined with old-fashioned hospitality. Enjoy our sumptuous breakfasts; flop into a deliciously comfortable bed and snuggle under quality linen; enjoy over-sized bathroom decadence; be treated wirh dignified enthusiasm by well trained staff who really enjoy what they do. Somerset West's best kept secret is the place for you - SW1 Lodge - a treasure in the Helderberg. SW1 Lodge offers 6 exquisitely decorated and individualised rooms all en-suite, a magnificent dining area, reading & relaxation nooks, a TV lounge and bar, a swimming pool, BBQ, sauna and an exquisite garden setting. Whether it is business or pleasure, SW1 Lodge & Spa Retreat has no equal in the Helderberg. It is THE place to unwind, take a break, use as a base for longer stays whilst you go out and explore all that our region and Cape Town and its environs has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your SW1 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SW1 Lodge Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing