We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average...”
Review of SW1 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SW1 Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very average...”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent one night there and we very excited. It is a beautiful lodge. Our room was very nice, nothing spectacular. Spa was very average though. I was not at all impressed with the continental breakfast they had on offer, especially for a five start lodge. There was hardly anything and the stuff they had was very average. I just don't think it's worth what the amount of money that you spend, and I definitely do not think it is a 5 star. I will not be returning to SW1. The restaurant JennaVIVA which is connected to the lodge is really amazing though, we had a good time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear JD

I am very concerned to hear that we failed to deliver on our promise of a great guest experience.

In order for me to properly look into this matter please could you furnish me with details of your stay - dates, room etc and let me have any specifics we can investigate and attend to.

I also own JennaVIVA and the experience you had there is indicative of the experience you should have had at SW1.

I would like to put right wahtever went wrong and would appreciate your help with doing so.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
70
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were looking for a cosy (fireplace) ambiance with stylish decor for a birthday party. That was exactly what we got, but then came the friendly, well organised and excellent service from staff and managers and it just went over the top for us!! They did everything for us, we just had to arrive and party.

Tobie, Ren and Terri thank you so much for making this an memorable event. It was really special thanks to all of you.

To Bea at the Spa, thank you so much for all the special attention you gave my mom. She mentioned that the standards there is very high and that the treatment was magnificent.

I can only say: Wow, Wow and wow!!

Room Tip: I cannot add a tip to choose a room, because the room I saw, I thought was the honeymoon suite, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maretha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear M

WOW to you too!!! What a wonderful compliment to receive! Thank you for taking the time to post it.

We are all thrilled that you and your friends had such a good time and that we 'hit the mark' with everything we did. You were an absolute pleasure to deal with and the staff say it was there pleasure to assist you in any way they could.

Thank you also for the great remarks about our decor. It makes all the effort worthwhile.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

An aunt and I stayed at SW1 lodge from 26 June till 6 July 2012. All I can say is that it was a wonderful experience. We arrived exhausted after 2 days of driving in a cold rainy late afternoon. We were received by all the friendly management and staff. SW1 have so much heart, warmth and style. Great service and breakfast!!! The location was great we did a lot of sightseeing in and around Somerset West. I will definitely stay at SW1 if I visit South Africa again. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My partner and I spent the night at SW1 lodge, under Toby's care out of the blue. It was a groupon special - and boy were we pleased. A great room, with a sumptious bath, an exquisite massage and then down the road for a fabulous dinner. The restaurant is also owned by the same people. Not surprising. The attention to detail was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mozzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Mozzy

A big thank you to you for the review posted recently. I am so pleased that you had a good experience at SW1 AND JennaVIVA
We hope you will return to us soon.

Warm regards

Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

What more can you want from a Lodge? It has everything!!

I have travelled many times in my career and have never come across a place with so much heart, warmth and style.

Tobie, who I contacted when I was looking for a temporary home was quick, professional and negotiable to my plea. I met all the staff and was welcomed so well, it will be hard to leave after three awesome days here.

You can feel God's peace is here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Laura

I am thrilled with the opinion you have of SW1 and it's staff! Ren, Tobie and the SW1 team will be thrilled to read your review. This is what makes their efforts worthwhile.

Thank you for choosing to stay at SW1 and for taking the time to post your comments. I do hope we will see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I got married in Stellenbosch in November 2011. We decided to rent out all of the rooms at SW1 for our family and some members of our wedding party. This is the best decision we made as we really enjoyed the intimacy of the property as well as the freedom to move about as we pleased. If you have a very large party, I highly recommend renting out the whole place. Suffice it to say that we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The manager (Debbie) was superb. She was always available to attend to our needs and helped us organize sightseeing trips as well as dinners at a wonderful local restaurant. Each room at SW1 had its own unique character and charm.

I recently read a review about racism at SW1, which was not consistent with our experience. Our party of 20 people was largely black (save my white "uncle") of different nationalities (Nigerian, American, South African, and Basotho from Lesotho) and we were treated with the utmost hospitality and respect.

SW1 is great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ugwunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Ugwunna

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased about your opinion of us and that you had such a wonderful time when you stayed at SW1. I remember you and your group very well. I recall how positive and enthusiastic you all were. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

You spoke about returning to SA sometime again soon and I hope it will also be to SW1 :)

Till then I wish you all the best.

Warm Regards

Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Warm sunshine filled my beautiful room all day long. It was a good reflection of the attitude of the well trained staff; friendly, caring, but always very professional.
Recommended by Dr Toogood’s Somerset Aesthetic Surgery, I stayed a fortnight at SW1, recovering after a major operation following the diagnosis of cancer. In fourteen days’ time, one can really see whether an establishment can live up to the nice words and pictures in the brochure! All I can say is that the pictures and words on the SW1 website can truly be trusted! It is a true reflection of the gorgeous place! Add to this the wonderful ambiance of wood fires burning, interesting coffee table books, large white serviettes, good coffee brewing, the nosy peacock bird outside your window and who need ask for more?
Meals were served in my room. The courtesy van delivered me gingerly in time for follow up appointments at the Surgery. Laundry was taken care of. SW1 is the perfect hideaway, but also home away from home where my friends and family could visit me in style and comfort.
This record of my most enjoyable stay at SW1 is but a poor attempt at expressing my deep gratitude towards Ren, Tobie and their fantastic team.
Thank you to every one of you!
M Venter
Gauteng

Room Tip: Lala Kahle is so private with own kitchen, little garden and porch, it will be like your own apartme...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Mrs Venter

Although we have never met I feel like I know you! The staff were always so full of praise for you and the dignity and bravery you have shown with dealing with your terrible illness.

Thank you for the wonderfully worded card you left for the SW1 team - it meant a great deal to them. Thank you also for your incredible words of praise on this Trip Advisor site. We all feel very buoyed to know that our sincerity and love for what we do and what we stand for has been so positively noted. This is even more pronounced given all the stresses you have facing you. It is indeed appreciated. All staff will be advised of the wonderful praise you have given them.

I was often at SW1 but unfortunately when you were at the doctor or sleeping but Tobie kept me informed of your progress each and every day. He has a huge 'soft spot' for you and he was quite emotional when you left. He speaks of you often.

I hope that every day there is improvement with your health. You have an amazing support system in your husband and family.

Please come and stay or visit when next you are in the Cape.

Warm regards
PS Your orchid is proudly on display at SW1 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
3.2 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 78 in Somerset West
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Somerset West
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Helderberg
Villa Helderberg
#9 of 78 in Somerset West
130 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW1 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW1 Lodge

Property: SW1 Lodge
Address: 32 Elsenham, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SW1 Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Luxury in Somerset West. Do you want to experience undiluted Euro-African chic and opulence in magnificent surroundings? Enjoy delicious chef prepared meals? Be treated with dignified enthusiasm by well trained staff who really enjoy what they do? Then Somerset West's best kept secret is the place for you - SW1 Lodge - a treasure in the Helderberg. SW1 Lodge offers 5 uniquely decorated and individualised rooms all en-suite, a magnificent dining area, reading / relaxation, TV lounge and bar, conference facilities, a swimming pool, BBQ, sauna and an exquisite garden setting. Whether it is business or pleasure, SW1 Lodge & Spa Retreat has no equal in the Helderberg. It is THE place to unwind, take a break, have a conference or that all-important business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SW1 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SW1 Lodge Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing