We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant with potential ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Pleasant Chalets & Lodges
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our young kids for the 1st time.
We stayed in the self-catering timber cottages. They were ok.
There were 3 rooms and 2 en-suites, one of which had a lovely big bath. The water was never really hot though, just above luke warm.
There is Dstv and small lounge seating. A lovely deck and a braai too.
Keep your bedroom curtains closed in the mornings though (just after 8am) as there are staff walking around the back of the cottages emptying the rubbish bins.
There is a trampoline, kids swings, a slide, squash and tennis courts and a ping pong table. One frustration is the playground equipment is not more centrally located.
There are old boats and canoes to use on the lake to rent as well.
We did not get the chance however and were surprised when we almost got a bill for rental of such at the end of our stay.
The resort is 'quite' well maintained but there is just something missing to take it from pleasant to awesome.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank peLIPPSTREU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Lake Pleasant Chalets & Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We turned up 'on spec' and received a warm welcome from the owners. We stayed in a lovely wooden cabin with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a well equipped kitch and braai. The gardens were lovely and full of birds, We took a rowing boat out on the lake and saw even more birds. The local area is interesting and there was lots to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCPM3062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 8 days at Lake Pleasant in December, with a party of 4 adults and 2 kids. 4 of us stayed in a timber cottage, and 2 in a garden cottage. The timber cottage is one of 5 perched on a hill and so with nice views. These cottages have access to their own pool. There is another pool for the rest of the resort (there is also camping and caravanning). We had a 3-bedroom unit with a well equipped kitchen and a nice big deck outside where we spent most of our time. The kids had a ball - they could ride their bikes and run around the resort safely and freely while we relaxed. Besides the pools, there is tennis, squash, a gym (for a fee), a playground, and a good restaurant. The resort is situated on a fresh water lake where one can swim. There are also boats and fishing gear to hire. The resort is very well maintained by the family owners and their staff. They are very helpful. The resort is situated 2km outside of Sedgefield and is a very convenient base for exploring the Garden Route - much quieter than nearby Knysna. We would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: The timber cottages are more spacious than the garden cottages.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleTravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having spent many holidays in my childhood camping here, an equally enjoyable chalet experience was expected - and it delivered indeed!
We were travelling with 4 adults in one of the Timber Chalet Cottages. These are roomy & cosy log cabins, with modern fittings (including en-suite bathroom).
Our cabin (Sunbird) had 3 bedrooms (2 with twin beds & 1 with double) & so each person could sleep comfortably. As it is a self-catering unit, everything is provided (but bring your own dishwashing liquid & beach towels). Satellite TV is available & the braai (barbeque) area is on a lovely outside decked patio.

The surroundings are lush & private & the resort has everything you could want - swimming pool, tennis court, table tennis, squash (need to pay for this), gym, trampoline, etc. You can also rent a boat for the dam or go in & swim at your leisure. The beautiful beach is a 3km walk (although it is quite a climb) & the resort is perfectly located between George & Knysna.
The chalet was serviced everyday & housekeeping was efficient & friendly. The chalet has access to a private swimming pool, although the resort also has another bigger one.
There is a restaurant with yummy food & friendly service & also a convenience shop.

The staff are beyond friendly & will go out of their way to please their guests - it kind of feels like you are treated like an old friend & not merely as a paying guest. I would recommend this to anyone who wants an extremely value-for-money holiday on the Garden Route - especially families, as there is loads to do to keep everyone busy. A must-visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedgefield hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 22 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
5.7 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 22 in Sedgefield
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
141 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sedgefield
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pleasant Chalets & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pleasant Chalets & Lodges

Address: Groenvlei Road, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing