We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Pleasant Living
Nearby Hotels
$182
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$92
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
$68
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$163
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$566
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
95
55
15
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
55
15
12
5
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 182 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just 5km outside Sedgefield Lake Pleasant offers a genuine relaxing experience in Suites that offer self-catering facilities that back onto the Lake. There is a Bistro that offers an excellent range of food, but a Spar shop in Sedgefield, which offers anything you might wish to purchase. Lake Pleasant is 40 minutes drive from the Knysna Elephant Park and one hour from Plattenberg Berg where there is an excellent restaurant on the Beach called The Lookout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property and your experience with us and the surrounding area. We trust you had a lovely holiday and the we will be afforded the opportunity to host you again, should you be travelling along the Garden Route. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful few days in our lovely villa & in season with the weather for the outside pools it would have been even better. The hotel relaxed the rules on the spa, so that our 6 year old could swim inside & the food in the restaurant was good, although the room itself is pretty dated & needs an update. The massages in the spa were very good & we certainly felt relaxed after 2 nights, but we expected this to be the premier resort we stayed in, the small spa, smaller than the picture suggests main pool & bar area did not quite live up these expectations - although the villa definitely did, once they'd made up the 5th bed for us after we arrived

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting your experience of our property. We are pleased you and the family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being your hosts again in the future. We have taken note of your comments and are pleased to note that refurbishment plans were already in the pipeline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for three nights at this tranquil property on the lake. Even though the property is just a minute drive from the highway, once you enter the premises you feel like you are far away from all the hustle and bustle. There is a swimming pool, gym, spa and covered parking available on the premises.

The suites are very spacious with a modern kitchen including all the required appliances. The rooms open into a veranda which in turn opens into the lush green lawns and the lake.

Breakfast spread was good and the service was warm. The dining area overlooks the lake and we loved catching the scenic sunrise form here. There is a common computer at the
reception which one can use for free to stay connected.

Would recommend this place for its luxurious and large suites!

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms have direct access to the gardens
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swathi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at our property. We are so glad you enjoyed all it had to offer and we trust we will be given the opportunity to host you again should you be travelling along the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights but wished it had only been for one night.
The suite was very dark, musty smelling but was clean.
The swimming pools were disappointing as they were so small.
The dining room was also very dark in the evening and we were astounded that they were unable to produce a pizza as they had no cheese available!
The buffet breakfast was mediocre and it was unpleasant to see a waitress picking a spot in a mirror before serving customers!
Well equipped kitchen although the dishwasher was broken and not mended as requested.
Pretty gardens with view over the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsGMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any form of feedback, be it good or bad. We did cover some of the issues mentioned here, in the e-survey you kindly completed after your departure. We have obviously taken note of your comments, thank you for bringing them to our attention and reacted to those accordingly. The size of our main pool does however surprise me, as I am not sure what you were expecting, as I consider it being far from small. We trust the rest of your holiday met with your expectations and look forward to the opportunity of hosting you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our second stay at Lake Pleasant in one of the Villas and this time we stayed 6 nights. Wow, this place is good for the soul. Just like the previous time, everything was perfect from start to finish. The staff is really friendly and breakfast in the morning is a lovely short stroll through the gardens. This was part of a longer vacation and we had our daughter's bicycle. She cycled to breakfast every morning (she loved that!!), parked her bike, had breakfast and then cycled back. The villas are really spacious, equipped with everything you could ever want. Sheets and towels are changed regularly. There's loads to do in the surrounding area. We would love to visit Lake Pleasant every year as this place is a best kept secret.

Room Tip: The villas are SO much nicer than the hotel rooms, with beautiful views of the lake from the bedrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koala1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Always a pleasure hosting you and we certainly look forward to your "annual" visits in future. Thank you again for posting your experience as we would certainly like other guests to enjoy the same experiences as you and your family. Looking forward to seeing you all soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews