We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nato and Anelle Zondagh”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Purple Heron Guest House
Ranked #6 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nato and Anelle Zondagh”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is superb. Paul and Jenny are the most perfect hosts and always prepared to walk the extra mile. We were booked for two nights and in the end we stayed for 7! If we could, we would've stayed longer, but by then they were fully booked. The entrance is not at the kitchen door. There's a lovely front entrance with an extra entrance at the back from the parking area. This entrance has a lovely decorated foyer. Their breakfast is the best we have ever had at a guest house. Thanks Paul and Jenny for even offering our own guests something to drink and for braaiing for us on New Year's Eve. I can recommend this place with conviction as good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the Guinea Fowl room. It's the smallest room, but has a lovely view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It is only a pleasure to know that your stay was a good one! We are glad that we could accommodate your extra days here and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards and take care. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked at the Purple Heron after reading the previous reviews.
The entrance is through the owner's back door (kitchen door?).
The room we were booked into (Spoonbill) did not look like the room on the website. The bed linen was completely creased. The furniture looked worn. The tv was an old box set - I tried to switch it on.. nothing happened. Could not find any info leaflet in the room.
The bathroom was clean, though there was a cake of blue soap stuck to the inside of the toilet bowl.
The hot water works on gas, so you have to adjust it very carefully - otherwise you end up having a cold shower.
No sign of "luxury" as rated by other reviewers. We booked for 3 nights, but checked out after the first night, but paid for the whole stay. We did not complain to the owners, simply because it did not seem worth the effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Oh dear. I am so sorry the guest left disappointed without revealing the real reasons for leaving early. The mix-up with the rooms, for which I apologise, could easily have been sorted out if we had been given the chance - it was a genuine mistake. We do try very hard to make our guests' stays with us as wonderful as possible and this was an exception to the rule. By the way, the blue block of soap in the toilet bowl is a toilet sanitiser and fragrance which is fairly new on the market - maybe the guests were not familiar with it and hence their confusion. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backnang, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We where recommended by a friendly lady which we met in the Kruger NP. SHe was absolutely right. THe warm welcome, the clean and calm rooms with view over the riever. All the animals arround. Perfect place to stay. Thanks for the perfect welcome and the warm stay we have received. It was brilliant and the breakfast was delicious.

Thanks so much! J&C from Germany!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much! We really enjoyed having you to stay. I hope that the rest of your trip was wonderful and that you come back to South Africa many times and maybe to Sedgefield again too.
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for a week with the perfect hosts. The rooms were spacious, clean and with beautiful views. And the breakfasts were truly delicious!
It is a perfect place to stay, in order to visit all the wonderful tourist attractions, such as the Cango Caves, Raptors, Wolf Sanctuary and Monkey Land.

Room Tip: We stayed with children, so the room given had a side lounge converted to a room for them to be clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaMoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It was a great pleasure to have you and your wonderful girls to stay. It was great that you were able to go to and enjoy so many of the wonderful things we have to offer here on the Garden Route. Take care and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days and we adored everything about it. The guest rooms are all en-suite with spacious bathrooms and are spotlessly clean. The beds are very comfortable with fluffy pillows. Waking up to the amazing river view in the morning with the birds singing outside just made everyday that much more special.

The guesthouse is perfectly located by the lagoon with peaceful views of mountain & river. A short walk away is the farmers' market which sells fresh oysters, bread and other local produce at the weekend.

The communal area at the guesthouse is spacious with an amazing front garden that the hosts sometimes have braais for the guests. There is also a front porch area that is great to sip tea in a glorious afternoon and watch the sun go down.

We very much enjoyed our time there and would recommend this to anyone travelling on the garden route.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany (English)
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Having been lucky enough to have visited South Africa three times the standard of accommodation, hospitality and food in general is just one of the many reasons to make us want to return again and again. We'd explored much of the Garden Route in 2008 but returned in April '12 to re-visit some parts and discover new. Sedgefield was a perfect stop over en-route from Addo Elephant Park. The Purple Heron is a modern house set in a lovely (Slow) town. The town's pledge can be seen at http://www.slowtown.co.za/ - worth a look.
Jenny and Paul's house faces onto a river setting (parking available) and offers outstanding rooms (ground floor room available too for those who cannot do stairs) all styled individually with superb attention to detail (candle and matches by the bath side). Breakfast is buffet style with hot food cooked to order, it was all excellent. If you fancy a quiet couple of days amidst a packed Garden Route schedule or a base from which to explore we cannot recommend The Purple Heron highly enough. Nature lovers or walkers can also enjoy the wildlife in the town's area.

Room Tip: If you have particular requirements we would suggest contacting the owners as there is a variety of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Purple Heron is stunning and in an ideal location for trips up and down the Garden Route - we were en route from Addo to Cape Town. Its beautiful situation by the river is tranquil and restful. It is close to amenities and in easy reach of Knysna and other sites of local interest - if you feel the need to move. I travel a lot and cleanliness is my top priority - no complaints at all. The rooms were airy and bright, very comfortable beds and spotless, modern bathrooms. Breakfast was fabulous. We had dinner by prior arrangement - delicious. Jenny and Paul made us so welcome. I will definitely go back soon - to stay for longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were lovely but the river view is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedgefield hotels
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
6.8 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 20 in Sedgefield
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Heron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Heron Guest House

Property: Purple Heron Guest House
Address: 12 Charles Te Water Street, Sedgefield, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Heron Guest House is a luxury accommodation establishment, situated in an urban nature conservancy on the banks of the Swartvlei River. The area abounds with bird life and the river offers water activities such as safe swimming and canoeing. The beautiful surrounds offer a feast of outdoor activities - bird watching, walking, hiking, cycling and lazing on the beach. Sedgefield is also one of the top paragliding areas in South Africa. Numerous excellent restaurants can be found close by and popular attractions such as Knysna, Plett, Oudtshoorn, Mossel Bay, Wilderness and George are all an easy drive away. The world famous Wild Oats Farmers' Market held every Saturday morning is a must and attending the annual "Slow Town" Festival held in April every year is highly recommended.At Purple Heron Guest House, our beds ensure an excellent night's sleep and our breakfasts send you out ready to enjoy a truly enjoyable day here on the truly beautiful Garden Route.Egret, a double room downstairs, is wheel chair accessible as are all the public rooms downstairs. The bathroom is suitable for visitors needing some adaption or who have someone to assist them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing