We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I found Afrovibe a week before we decided to go on honeymoon and I will never regret it.

Afrovibe Adventure Lodge is truly a lodge for people with good spirits, that are fun and outdoor lovers. Especially the beach. Afrovibe is situated in a perfect location over looking the beach with a stunning view from your balcony.

The friendliest staff who are more like family make you feel right at home, with great advice on what to see, they even help you plan your day trips and activities. they suggest what is best suited for the weather and always helpful when you have a quesion.

The perks:
* Most of the activities are on your doorstep
* You are right on the beach
* Below your room is one of the best beach bars you will ever experience - PiliPili beachbar BEST PIZZA EVER!!
* It looks a lot like a little paradise.
* It is very affordable if you enjoy doing a whole lot of activities.
* Afrovibe even have their own guitar lessons :)

Afrovibe has started me on this quest for backpacking.. but it is definitely my new favourite escape and I look forward to seeing the afrovibe adventurers there!!

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would definitely suggest a double room - Room no.5 it has the best view both i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neelo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe_Cindy, Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Hello
Thank you so much for this beautiful review. We are so happy you had such a lovely stay. It's already been a long time since your last visit...maybe it's time for a second honeymoon? ;)
Kind Regards
Cindy and the Afro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Afrovibe was great! Very nice relaxed atmosphere, great staff, awesome wood oven cooked pizza, very good prices, lovely staff always willing to help make your stay very enjoyable, would definitely go back again. Very safe and secure, and clean too. Lots of suggested daytrips to choose from, and drivers to hire for the day to take you wherever you like. Awesome place. Loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe_Cindy, Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Hello Kim
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us last year. Thanks for the review.
Regards
Cindy and the Afro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was at Afrovibe between Christmas and New Year's, and loved my experience there. As an American living in the Eastern Cape for the year, I was so happy to finally get to the Garden Route and Afrovibe was a great place to be situated for exploring the area for a few days. I was impressed by the super friendly staff and rooms, absolutely loved the location right on Myoli Beach, and found it a really fun vibe but also was able to relax--between braais on the pavement, chatting with other guests, and sundowners on Cloud Nine and on the beach. The bar was great, and their pizzas were among the most delicious I've had in SA! I also went paragliding in Wilderness, which the staff at Afrovibe set up for me, and which was a breathtaking, beautiful experience. Definitely wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else on this trip-- thanks Afrovibe for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe_Cindy, Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Hello Christina
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Afrovibe. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Cindy and the Afro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Afrovibe is a really great spot. Close to the beach, friendly service and staff, restaurant and bar downstairs. The only real negatives that we experienced were the fact that there is no communal area to meet other travellers other than the bar (not run by the backpackers themselves) which is not too bad but would be nice to have something more social. Our other issue was that we stayed on the side faceing a holiday home. At 11pm exactly while we were talking outside our room, the neighbor started flashing their torch at us and telling us to keep quiet. This despite the fact that there is a bar downstairs blaring music until 3am. Like I said a small negative, more about the neighbours than the hostel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe_Cindy, Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Hello Chad
Thank you for the review; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We've recently opened the Afrovibe Beach House just down the road from the current Lodge which has more social spaces. When you visit us again we can show you :)
Regards
Cindy and the Afro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was a little sad when I arrived here, having left my friends in Knysna behind, I was all alone Awww!!! But...I didn't feel alone for long as this is a very friendly place and I got talking to people, moreso the staff very quickly. They are very helpul and seem to really enjoy working there. There seemed to be plenty of things available, trips, activities, though I only stayed the 1 night so didn't get involved.
The hostel is right by the beach and there are nice balconies with sea views. Few beaches could beat this one and it is not crowded. There is a bar and restaurant forming part of the place, seems to be good middle of the road quality, they cook pizza outside on the stove and there's choice. Breakfast is very nice and reasonably priced.
I was a little dissapointed to be charged a full rate for taking a room of my own, especially as their website does advertise singles. I don't believe they actually have single rooms. The hostel does have shared accommodation, though I just had a lot of luggage which is why I opted for my own room.
The room itself has all the amenities of a guesthouse / small hotel room. Ensuite and towels are provided. TV but only a couple of channels. Fan.
The bar was quite noisey, I was right above the bar, so you may want to ask about room location. This went on until around midnight, but after then it was quiet and I wasn't disturbed after.
Wishing I was by that beach right now!!
I

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe_Cindy, Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Thank you for your review. We always like hearing back from our guests (even if we reply a little late). We hope you will visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The days and evenings here always start so promising. Our first nights sunset, a spectacular red and orange explosion of splendour, was a promise of the start of a great holiday. The wine was unpacked, the braais and potjies planned.....we were all looking forward to unwinding the stresses of a long work year...

But now.......It's 1:30am. And the music is pumping for the second night straight! The parking lot is a mixture of beer, sweet smelling spirits, screeching tyres and the kind of misogynistic speech usually reserved for an inmate of this countries most notorious prison.

Here is what the opening line of this beautiful place should be: "We are accommodation built on top of a night club which stays open till 3 am. Our parking lot is a late night/early morning gathering spot for drunk drivers and idiots with a very limited knowledge of the rich variety of adjectives that exist in both the English and Afrikaans language." But I don't suppose they would get much custom if they were that honest.

Right now, I am contemplating giving up my mornings to catch up on sleep. Or maybe my early evenings. I figure if I sleep from 5pm till about 11pm, then I can ride out the late night nightmare and get some additional sleep from 4am till about 7am when the next days activities start in full. It's not ideal, but what the heck, we all need to sacrifice a little to keep this countries economy going.

If it's a relaxing, traditional South African beach holiday you are aiming for, then avoid this place like the plague in high season, for you will only be reminded of that one abusive drunk uncle that ruined everyone's holiday that one year. If you would like to relive your teenage years of late night club hopping, public drinking and going to sleep when the sun rises, this is the place for you...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Reinardt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Reinardt B, - husband of Zazabee

Please refer to a blog posted on our homepage titled: "Do's and dont's of Backpacking". This blog was written specifically for your type of holidaymaker - the typical local tourist which we do NOT cater for and would preferably not host in this establishment. The local tourist/s we love to welcome to Afrovibe are those that are fun loving, young at heart and open to new experiences.

In future please dig deeper into your pocket and book a hotel- not a Backpackers Lodge.. especially not in the busiest week of the year.

Regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

On the beach, comfortable, friendly staff, excellent choice, nice place to eat, spacious rooms, beautiful view from top deck. One of nicest budget accommodation you will ever stay at. Great vibe for both backpackers and families

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ane-Michaela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi Ane-Michaela V,

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, its lovely knowing you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
6.7 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 24 in Sedgefield
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
79 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 24 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
14.2 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrovibe Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Address: 2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range: $33 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrovibe Adventure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just metres away from the beach – an unparalleled, sweeping stretch of unspoiled coastline - Afrovibe Adventure Lodge is one of the most popular destinations in the Garden Route, the proverbial melting pot of wild-at-heart travellers of diverse cultures from around the globe. The purveyors of this hip and happening establishment understand better than anyone that the travelling experience is about so much more than just the destination itself but it is also about the relationships forged with others along the way. Activities are aimed at providing the ideal platforms for people to connect. People come here as strangers and leave as friends. A typical day in the life of our guests at Afrovibe consists of: wholesome breakfasts served with a caffeine kick and freshly squeezed juices, outdoor adventure pursuits surrounded by nature's eye candy; day trips to a host of legendary Garden Route attractions; long and languid beach walks, refreshing dips in the sea, spellbinding sunsets coupled with beach bonfires and music jam sessions; pizza and cocktails served at the funky Pili Pili beach bar. One thing is for certain, a memorable adventure of a lifetime awaits those who venture here! Afrovibe is the only backpackers on the Garden Route located on the beach and the 4-star graded rooms ('Backpackers & Hostelling' category with TGCSA) are more than comfortable. They are equipped with private bathrooms and spacious balconies overlooking the ocean. Room types include: single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, family rooms and dorms. There is a small, communal self-catering kitchen facility available for those who wish to prepare their own meals and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Afrovibe Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing