We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afrovibe-a Must Join”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I travelled from JoBurg down to Cape Town and Myoli Beach was my last stop before I headed towards CT. Unfortunately I only could stay two nights...This place was one of the most relaxing and feels-like-home places I've been to. Afrovibe is just one step away from the beautiful Myoli Beach. The Sunset is just amazing! The staff was the type of staff that I really appreciate,- very friendly, caring, you feel welcome and at home, passionate in what they are doing, authentic and lots of fun as well. The place itself was very clean, staying in a room felt like staying in a well-rated hotel, lovely and tidy. Braiis can be joined in the wonderful outside sandy area with a fireplace right at the beach-you can hear the waves and even smell the salt, its so close! It has a huge top deck with a stunning view towards the sea, you can even relax in a whirlpool there. This place is worth it in every single way. JOIN IT on your South African trip along the Garden Route... You will love it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiSu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thanks so much for your positive review NiSu2011. We are passionate about what we do & it really warms our hearts knowing that people appreciate and enjoy our efforts.

We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 279 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at Afrovibe while traveling the Garden Route. The rooms were very clean, spacious and beautiful balcony views looking to the beach and ocean. They have a rooftop which has a great view during sunrise or sunset. Staff was really very nice. We actually had a traditional African Braii (for the US - outdoor BBQ with grill and firepitt) where the owners invited their friends to give us the full experence. If you get to meet Lyle, you also get to meet his awesome dog. Good for fun minded crew in their 20's.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caramichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us Cara, we're very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

Come back soon! :-)
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I've been good times in afrovibe. I've just stayed there for 2 days but it was enough to knowing and feeling a few that place. They were very hospitable and friendly with us.
The everthing we've needed in south africa, the Afrovide and company were helpfull with us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thayara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

We're happy to hear that you had good times with us at Afrovibe Thayara. :-)

Come visit us again soon!
-Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Well, I was told to stop here on my travels through the Garden Route. I was also told that this is a kite boarding spot with many other exciting adventures on offer, which is so true, but not really a surfing spot to stop at. I was so surprized to get there and surf my brains out all alone! Classic beach breaks and A solid left hander! When I returned from my surf all smiles late in the afternoon, I was greeted by the friendly staff that booked me in earlier. This awesome establishment is right on the beach! These guys make friends with you, and make you feel right at home! Cold beers next to the huge fire that burns every night, and a wide veriety of great food. Every evening you will find the entire lodge enjoying sundowners from the rooftop. The sun here sets over the see and makes for epic photo's! You can also jump into either of the two jacuzi's!

I was supposed to stay for two nights, but soon realised that this would not even be close to enough time to visit "The Hotel California"! I call this cool place this because you can book out but can never leave! Even noe two months after my visit I'm still there in spirit. Even the building looks like the real thing! The rooms are clean and spaciouse, there's also a wide veriety of double rooms and dorms. All the prices are so reasonable, from the Bar to the resturant and rooms alike.

Lyle at the forefront and leader of the pack is a great guy, helpfull and so friendly! He's also the king of the 'BEER PONG" table! The rest of the team are just as nice and they all create the "Vibe" at Afrovibe! This is a must for anyone looking for adventure, to make new friends, enjoy the beach, have fun in the sun, go on tours, play in the ocean or even fall in love!

THE DRIFTER.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! The ocean facing rooms are great for it's views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolte_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeighKatzen, Front Office Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback Nolte. It was great having you here at Afrovibe.
We hope to welcome you back here soon.

Kind regards, Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at Afrovibe on my way from Cape Town to PE and actually just wanted to stay for 1 night first! But because of the great location and the super friendly staff I stayed a few days more and even returned on my way back to Cape Town.
It's a very relaxing place with the beach only a few steps away, a restaurant, bar and an amazing rooftop with jacuzzis!
You can do various things from there and the staff will be happy to help you organize everything. I did horseriding and wakeboarding which were both great fun.
I will definetely return to this place when I'm back in South Africa! And I hope lots of other people get to experience this lovely place too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeighKatzen, Front Office Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you Luana, your feedback is important to us. We are very happy that you had such a good experience at Afrovibe.
We look forward to your return.

Keep well
Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

What an awesome experience! I am embarrassed to say I was a local from George (living in Cape Town now) because Lyle and his team showed us an AWESOME time at the lodge! Comfortable rooms and loads of activities...Afrovibe is definitely my new home away from home with excellent location!! Will be back guys with more friends!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeighKatzen, Front Office Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The team at Afrovibe prides itself in making everyone feel at home.

Hope to see you again soon.
Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My family and I (9 family members) stayed at Afrovibe Myoli on the 26 th. og December. Of all the 8 places (backpackers) we stayed on on our trip Cape Town- Addo return me and my family definitely found this one place to be in the low end unfortunately. First of all we´d been promised a bunk-room for ourselves which we did not get . Second, the bunk-room showed out to be located in a hallway where all people could could and did pass through all the evening and night so that half of the family did not get much sleep until 3 am. Third , the sheets had not been shifted in 3 of our beds and the floor was dirty. However the bar and beach was great and we all loved that. All in all , beautiful location but to busy and untidy for our taste :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars Lundgaard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Afrovibe Lars. Your initial enquiry was for 3 private rooms, since we did not have any availability on private rooms you chose to book a mixed dorm for your family. Mixed dorms are budget accommodation which is shared with other guests. There must have been a misunderstanding with you thinking that the dorm would be exclusively for you, if that is what was expected all 12 beds should have been booked and paid for. Since the dorms are shared the only people that should walk in & out of the room are the residents checked are into the room. All our rooms that have been occupied get serviced before new check-ins are processed so I am certain that your bed sheets would have been changed. If you had let us know that you were unhappy on the day we would have done what we can to enhance your stay.

I hope that you enjoyed South Africa and that you and your family will come back to visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.4 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
14.2 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Footprints of Knysna
Footprints of Knysna
#18 of 111 in Knysna
170 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 24 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#6 of 12 in Sedgefield
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrovibe Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Address: 2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range: $32 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrovibe Adventure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just metres away from the beach – an unparalleled, sweeping stretch of unspoiled coastline - Afrovibe Adventure Lodge is one of the most popular destinations in the Garden Route, the proverbial melting pot of wild-at-heart travellers of diverse cultures from around the globe. The purveyors of this hip and happening establishment understand better than anyone that the travelling experience is about so much more than just the destination itself but it is also about the relationships forged with others along the way. Activities are aimed at providing the ideal platforms for people to connect. People come here as strangers and leave as friends. A typical day in the life of our guests at Afrovibe consists of: wholesome breakfasts served with a caffeine kick and freshly squeezed juices, outdoor adventure pursuits surrounded by nature's eye candy; day trips to a host of legendary Garden Route attractions; long and languid beach walks, refreshing dips in the sea, spellbinding sunsets coupled with beach bonfires and music jam sessions; pizza and cocktails served at the funky Pili Pili beach bar. One thing is for certain, a memorable adventure of a lifetime awaits those who venture here! Afrovibe is the only backpackers on the Garden Route located on the beach and the 4-star graded rooms ('Backpackers & Hostelling' category with TGCSA) are more than comfortable. They are equipped with private bathrooms and spacious balconies overlooking the ocean. Room types include: single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, family rooms and dorms. There is a small, communal self-catering kitchen facility available for those who wish to prepare their own meals and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Afrovibe Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing