We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A really great place to stay...right on the beach, very nice rooms, super cool owner who is that hard-to-find combination of fun and friendly AND incredibly professional. Free wi-fi in the bar/lounge downstairs draws lots of people down there even on slow nights. I was there in August and they were starting renovations on the hot tub area up on the roof....if it's done, the place will go from almost perfect to totally perfect. I highly recommend. Oh, and don't think of this as a hostel--the private rooms are as nice as any hotel room I stayed at in South Africa. A great way to end my adventure.

Room Tip: If you can get one facing the beach, do it for the gorgeous view, but remember that those balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thanks so much for your beautiful review Rachel F, and of course.. thanks for the compliments! :-)

It was great to have met you and very good to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to see you again one day soon.
Kind regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 282 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Afrovibe has a great location close to a beautiful beach with a great view from the roof top...
A lot of adventures you can do around and the staff is more than ready to help and direct you to the best sites.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neta_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thanks for your feedback Neta, was great having you stay with us! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of you travels in our beautiful country!

Warm regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The best place to relax with awesome Afrovibers! Stick you feet in the sand with the sun on your back and a cocktail in hand! Clean rooms, great vibe and enough adventures to keep any adrenalin junkie on the edge of their seats!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParaglidingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks ParaglidingSA,

We appreciate your feedback!

Kind regards from the Afrovibe team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I had an awesome time at afrovibe adventure lodge! All in one; great location, adventure, fun, ocean direct infront of the hostel and fabulous stuff, always trying to make and suport u to get the most of a day!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Manager at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you Joy, we very happy to know that you such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to your next visit! :-)

Cheers and see you soon!
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Afrovibe Lodge is located in a beautiful area at Myoli Beach.
The area is beautiful and there are plenty of atractions on the side. The Lodge is beautiful and very cozy. Also the staff is amazing and very helful, you wount find a better place in this area.
Definetley you will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review us Yael, we appreciate it.

Come visit us again soon! :-)

Kind regards, Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Directly at the incredible beach this new Backpacker has it all. If you're in for al sorts of beach sports, to party, sightseeing, excellent braais or just to chill, this place has it all! Just ask and they'll make it happen for sure. One day is propably not enough. And don't forget to check out the amazing Saturday market with great food and the amazing roof terrace. Def a tripadviser!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllardNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thanks for the feedback Allard, we appreciate it.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I am so glad that I stopped in Sedgefeild it is THE hidden gem of South Africa. After traveling almost the entire coast of SA and staying in many different hostels I have to say Afrovibe hands down was the best. The staff there is absolutely amazing and will go way out of there way to make sure you have the time of your life. If your looking for a quite night, then the jaccuzis on the roof and a bottle of wine is great way to do it. If your looking for adventure then it is never ending from, paragliding, crawling through caves, ostrich riding, kite surfing, to wakeboarding, if your on a budget theres a sand dune right outside shred that with the free sandboard rental or rip up the half pipe outside the front door. Three great surf beaches 10 minutes away from the hostel. Rooms were spotless, big screen tv in common room, great bbq area outback in the sand with a bonfire everynight! But the staff is what makes this place so great if you want to get away from the mainstream tourist crowded towns head down to Myoli. Stayed a week wish I could have stayed longer, oh ya and the lodge is literally on the beach!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thanks Andrew! It's great knowing that you've had such a pleasant stay with us. It's been great hosting you & we look forward to loads more adventuring!

Cheers!
Lyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
6.7 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 24 in Sedgefield
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
79 reviews
2 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 24 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
14.2 mi away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrovibe Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Address: 2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range: $33 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrovibe Adventure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just metres away from the beach – an unparalleled, sweeping stretch of unspoiled coastline - Afrovibe Adventure Lodge is one of the most popular destinations in the Garden Route, the proverbial melting pot of wild-at-heart travellers of diverse cultures from around the globe. The purveyors of this hip and happening establishment understand better than anyone that the travelling experience is about so much more than just the destination itself but it is also about the relationships forged with others along the way. Activities are aimed at providing the ideal platforms for people to connect. People come here as strangers and leave as friends. A typical day in the life of our guests at Afrovibe consists of: wholesome breakfasts served with a caffeine kick and freshly squeezed juices, outdoor adventure pursuits surrounded by nature's eye candy; day trips to a host of legendary Garden Route attractions; long and languid beach walks, refreshing dips in the sea, spellbinding sunsets coupled with beach bonfires and music jam sessions; pizza and cocktails served at the funky Pili Pili beach bar. One thing is for certain, a memorable adventure of a lifetime awaits those who venture here! Afrovibe is the only backpackers on the Garden Route located on the beach and the 4-star graded rooms ('Backpackers & Hostelling' category with TGCSA) are more than comfortable. They are equipped with private bathrooms and spacious balconies overlooking the ocean. Room types include: single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, family rooms and dorms. There is a small, communal self-catering kitchen facility available for those who wish to prepare their own meals and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Afrovibe Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing